1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modded Xbox Bootup Problem!!! Im a noob :)

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware mods' started by mecp_alex, Oct 28, 2008.

1. mecp_alex

mecp_alex Member

Hi. I traded for this modded xbox from a friend of mine. It is a hard mod, and worked just fine. Then one day, i came home from work and my daughter had ripped off the dipswitch chip off the front. And it has not worked since. It boots up with the xbox screen, with the xecutor 2 logo on it. Then, it boots up and has the error screen, and I get an error 05 code. I have googled what that means, and from what I get that is not a propper locked hdd. So, I opened it up and a few of the cables can unsoldered from the board. So, I re soldered them on it. (I have some descent experience in soldering in my profession.) And, I get the same error code. So, did a little more research, and I found a program that may be able to redo the bios. Well, anyway, I dont really know what Im doing with the soft mod side of it. I was wondering if evox is the correct program to do this with, and if it is somewhat simple to use. Like preferably not command line driven, lol. Also, any missed steps or input would be helpful.

2. C4RN1

C4RN1 Regular member

Before you go trying to flash the bios let me explain how that switch works. More than likely that was a switch to change the bios banks or turn the mod chip off. It sounds to me like the chip is set to boot the ms bios (stock bios) that requires the hard drive to be locked. This is why you're getting an error code, mod chip bios doesn't need the hard drive to be locked so you simply have to enable the mod chip and/or modchip bios.

Can you take a picture of the mod chip or try to describe it for me?