1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

more questions about cue

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by Drizzt_r, Nov 11, 2002.

1. Drizzt_r

Drizzt_r Member

I have read the other topic about cue/bin files...and I still donät get it..
    I tried to burn the BIN fiel directly with the newest nero program...but It didn't work...
    they say that I have to use the cue file to burn. I tried to make one myself but i must have missunderstod...could you please try to explain it a little easier.??
    sorry I know i'm prob stupid..im just really new to this kinda stuff
    thnx

2. aldaco12

aldaco12 Active member

First you should know if the image you want to burn is for PC, for PSX or a VCD.

Second, you have to divide the size of the image by 2048, 2336 or 2352. The number that gives you an integer number as result represent thw way in which data have been extracted by the CD_ROM.
    For instance: if you have an image whose size is 541,195,200 bytes then it means that a 230,100 SECTORS image was extracted from a CD-ROM, using the standard 2352 bytes/sector (this is the most common standard used, also called RAW format).

Third, you have to prepare a .CUE file like the two belows (use notepad then save-as-text):

1) for a playstation CD or a VCD use:

FILE "name-of-the-file" BINARY
    TRACK 01 MODE2/2352
    INDEX 01 00:00:00

2) for a standard CD for PC use:

FILE "name-of-the-file" BINARY
    TRACK 01 MODE1/2352

The CUE file contains three informations:
    a) the name of the image you want to burn. You can include the whole path or, if you put the .CUE and the ISO in the same directory, only the file name e.g. "image.BIN" or "image.ISO".