1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Movie plays, freezes, plays and freezes

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by k0k0m0, Jul 31, 2005.

  1. k0k0m0

    k0k0m0 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I've used dvd.identifier and have identified the media I have at home...

    gimme your opinion


    Disc & Book Type : [DVD+R] - [DVD+R]
    Manufacturer Name : [Mitsubishi Chemical Corp.]
    Manufacturer ID : [MCC]
    Media Type ID : [003]
    Product Revision : [Not Specified]
    Blank Disc Capacity : [Not Supported By Method 2]
    Recording Speeds : [1x-2.4x , 4x , 6x-8x]
    [Method 2 Might Not Always Detect All Speeds]



    Disc & Book Type : [DVD+R] - [DVD+R]
    Manufacturer Name : [Moser Baer India Ltd.]
    Manufacturer ID : [MBIPG101]
    Media Type ID : [R04]
    Product Revision : [001]
    Blank Disc Capacity : [Not Supported By Method 2]
    Recording Speeds : [1x-2.4x , 4x , 6x-8x]
    [Method 2 Might Not Always Detect All Speeds]

    Disc & Book Type : [DVD-R] - [DVD-R]
    Manufacturer Name : [Moser Baer India Ltd.]
    Manufacturer ID : [MBI 01RG20 ]
    Blank Disc Capacity : [2,298,496 Sectors = 4.71 GB (4.38 GiB)]
     
  2. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
  3. kivory666

    kivory666 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    hehe, i replied to that thread~ :) also, to add to THIS thread...i used to use an optorite DD1205, it was a 12x drive/burner..died within 6 months~! i have found optorite's build quality to be sub-par, not a very good drive when i had it...since then i have switched to a sony dru-710a, pioneer dvr-109, nec 3520a, and liteon 1633s...all of which perform GREAT, leaves the optorite in the dust.

    i think your combination of an average/below average drive plus questionable media is giving you these problems...along with too fast of a burn speed. i know $$ is always an issue along with the fact your choices may be limited in your area, but, i would get a good burner 1st off, secondly use ONLY the MCC disc that you have from the other thread creaky linked you (Verbatims 8x dvd+r are also the MCC003 coding, they are VERY GOOD media) and lastly slow down your burns to 4x for less chance of errors. that should do it, for now at least....
     
  4. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    i had an optorite drive that read about 6 discs, wrote one, and was exchanged for my current trusty Sony burner. no more optowrite for me, that taught me for picking a drive i'd never heard of before
     
  5. kivory666

    kivory666 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    optorite drives REALLY SUCK in my OWN opinion, i had 2 of them, the 2nd being from an RMA since the 1st one died...this one lasted a little longer...maybe 8 months? then died too..i gave up after that, didn't want to deal w/ another return for SAME drive that would possibly last maybe a year? switched drives immediately, i have been happy ever since with my current ones :)
     
  6. k0k0m0

    k0k0m0 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I've forgotten I had this thread alive, that's why I've posted that on the media forum...

    Well, where I come from there are no many choices really about burners...suffice to say that this Optorite is considered to be "top of the line"

    So, if discs are good (such as MCC) should I still decrease burning speeds??? In other words should I always burn at very low speeds???
     
  7. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    i and many others preach the 4x speed. i did 8x one on an 8x TY disc last night (Shanghai Noon - excellent but i digress) and watched it straight after. burnt fine, but i did that just as a test, i still prefer to stick to 4x. more importantly i preach 4x, people can always speed up if they want to later.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2005
  8. arniebear

    arniebear Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I have a Plextor that is considered one of the best drives, it will burn a TY or Verb at double the rated speed. But I keep it down to 4x because there is less chance of errors. You may get a playable disk at a higher rate of speed but if you ever have to recopy that disk you may not be able to because of the errors. Just my opinion.
     
  9. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    i forgot to add i only use MCC and TY, and i still keep the speed down. maybe one day we will all be able to do rated speeds but in my humble opinion dvd burning is just not as established as cd burning (not sure it will be, shunting between 4 and 9GB around is a lot different to a quick 700MB cd)
     
  10. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I always keep my burn speeds at 4x on both my drives (in my sig) even with high quality media and recommend the same speed or slower for those having problems. A nero history log would be helpful to point out some other possible areas in question.

    Mort
     
  11. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I burned a 8x TY the other day at 16x just for $hits and giggles and although it played ok (no freezing or pixelating) there were some verticle bands that moved across the screen from left to right throughout the movie. Probably wouldn't be too noticable on a small tv but was pretty obvious on my 52" hdtv. 4x for me boys.

    Mort
     
  12. k0k0m0

    k0k0m0 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    would it help if I pasted a Nero log file? where do I get it?

    Last discs were burnt at 2x... I went from burning at 8x to snail-recording at 2x
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2005
  13. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    yup, go for it
     
  14. k0k0m0

    k0k0m0 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sorry, but you find them where?
     
  15. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    sorry, it's in c:\program files\ahead\nero\nerohistory.log. post LAST section only, and DON'T post your serial number as it would get stolen in a snap
     
  16. k0k0m0

    k0k0m0 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Windows XP 5.1
    IA32
    WinAspi: -
    ahead WinASPI: File 'C:\Archivos de programa\DVD\Ahead\nero\Wnaspi32.dll': Ver=2.0.1.74, size=164112 bytes, created 26/10/2004 05:35:34 p.m.
    Nero Version: 6.6.0.8
    Recorder: <OPTORITE DVD RW DD0405> Version: 160E - HA 1 TA 0 - 6.6.0.8
    Adapter driver: <atapi> HA 1
    Drive buffer : 2048kB
    Bus Type : default (0) -> ATAPI, detected: ATAPI
    CD-ROM: <ASUS DVD-E616P2 >Version: 1.03 - HA 1 TA 1 - 6.6.0.8
    Adapter driver: <atapi> HA 1

    === Scsi-Device-Map ===
    DiskPeripheral : SAMSUNG SP1203N atapi Port 0 ID 0 DMA: On
    DiskPeripheral : Maxtor 4D040H2 atapi Port 0 ID 1 DMA: On
    CdRomPeripheral : OPTORITE DVD RW DD0405 atapi Port 1 ID 0 DMA: On
    CdRomPeripheral : ASUS DVD-E616P2 atapi Port 1 ID 1 DMA: On

    === CDRom-Device-Map ===
    OPTORITE DVD RW DD0405 E: CDRom0
    ASUS DVD-E616P2 F: CDRom1
    =======================

    AutoRun : 1
    Excluded drive IDs:
    WriteBufferSize: 83886080 (0) Byte
    ShowDrvBufStat : 0
    BUFE : 0
    Physical memory : 1023MB (1048048kB)
    Free physical memory: 713MB (731052kB)
    Memory in use : 30 %
    Uncached PFiles: 0x0
    Use Inquiry : 1
    Global Bus Type: default (0)
    Check supported media : Disabled (0)

    7.8.2005
    UDF/ISO compilation
    11:40:32 p.m. #1 Phase 112 File dlgbrnst.cpp, Line 1832
    DVD-Video files reallocation started

    11:40:32 p.m. #2 DVDREALLOC -24 File DVDVideoCompilation.cpp, Line 1183
    One or more files (mostly VOB file(s)) do not belong to the corresponding IFO file

    11:40:32 p.m. #3 Phase 115 File dlgbrnst.cpp, Line 1832
    DVD-Video files reallocation failed


    Existing drivers:
    File 'Drivers\atapi.sys': Ver=5.1.2600.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158), size=95360 bytes, created 03/08/2004 05:59:44 p.m. (Adapter driver for rec)
     
  17. k0k0m0

    k0k0m0 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    is that OK?

    FYI, the last disc I burnt was an Imation (media #2) IIRC
     
  18. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Firmware for burner is up to date, dma settings are on etc, that vob/ifo message is the cause of your problem, somethings gone screwy with the way you ripped/put together the movie or compilation or whatever
     
  19. k0k0m0

    k0k0m0 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah... I dunno what could have happened test my DVDLab project with PowerDVD first as usual and no problem...

    Question: how do u tell if the firmware is up to date?
     
  20. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    In the case of your burner I've had to check optorite firmware for a few posts recently so know its up to date. Can't find the link at the moment, you can google search for it if you like
     

Share This Page