1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Movies To Big...

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by DynoO, Jan 16, 2005.

1. DynoO

DynoO Member

I'm New To Burning DVDs I Put In A DVD Its Like 7 Gigs and my cds are only 4.3 gigs. Read About Using DVDShrink Does It Lower The quality of the dvd or is the quality the same and can i keep the special features an stuff. Also do i have to decrpyt the dvd first? any help would be nice thanks

Last edited: Jan 16, 2005
  2. larrylje

larrylje Active member

Go to the top of the forum and click on Guides it will list a guide for all sorts of programs choose 1 and follow it.

3. Weirdo007

Weirdo007 Regular member

1. Yes you have to Decrypter it. DVDShrink can do some of the older movies but not most of the newer ones. Get Shrink anyway for the compression, and get Decrypter.

2. Not really, unless you intend to watch it on an HDTV, which it tends to get rather pixelated, in which you'll probably want a DL burner and media to make a direct 1:1 backup.

Otherwise, I enable Deep Analysis and AEC (Adaptive Error Compensation) in Shrink to help spread the compression out, thus improving quality. Takes a little longer but worth it. I can compress with as little 60%, and haven't noticed any difference on a 27" Zenith. Probably would notice it more on the higher resolution TV's like Plasma or LCD.

4. larrylje

larrylje Active member

ok I guess I could explain a little more. The disk you have to burn on is a DVD5 disk burns 1 layer on 1 side. The Movie your trying to copy is DVD9 layer, 2 layers burnt on 1 side. SO yes you have to compress the DVD to a DVD5 disc. You can use DVD Shrink/ DVD2One/ Clone DVD etc etc Like I said go to the Guides tab at the top of this fourm and look at each guide and choose 1 that suits you best. You have to learn by trial and error we all did.

5. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member

Hi there DynoO, welcome to aD,