1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MPEG-4

Discussion in 'Other video questions' started by wscici, Jul 30, 2002.

1. wscici

wscici Member

Hi,

I'm new at this and was wondering if anyone knows whether there are or will be actual files out there with an .mp4 extension. In other words, can mpeg-4 be an actual file format, like mpeg1 and mpeg2, or is it only used as a CODEC?

Thanks.

2. ALLLVOLLL

ALLLVOLLL Member

MPEG-4 HAS A FILE EXTENSION OF .AVI ALTHOUGH IT IS DIFFERENT FROM TRADITIONAL .AVI FILES.IT STILL IS ACTUALLY MPEG FORMAT.

3. dRD

dRD I hate titles Staff Member

MPEG-4, just like virtually any other video format, can be stored in _any_ container format, so claiming that MPEG-4's extension is AVI is b.s.

AVI/ASF/QuickTime/MP4 doesn't tell _anything_ about the fact which compression method was used.

So, your question is flawed -- there isn't anything called "real video formats". Just compression routines and container formats ("holders", "wrappers" or whatever you want to call them). MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 require codecs, just like MPEG-4 does. Only difference is that MPEG-1 codec comes bundled with Windows and MPEG-2 codec with DVD player software (for obvious reasons as DVD-Videos are MPEG-2s).

To put it simply:

MPEG-1 can have extensions of .avi, .mpg, .qt, .mp4, .ogm, etc...
    MPEG-4 can have extensions of .avi, .qt, .mp4, .ogm, etc...

...there is NO such compression format as "AVI".

4. ALLLVOLLL

ALLLVOLLL Member