1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ms Dashboard won't boot on UnleashX.

Discussion in 'Xbox - Software discussion' started by DiMaclay, Dec 23, 2008.

1. DiMaclay

DiMaclay Member

Newbie here, so please, use softlube and be gentle. (and yes, I have searched the forums here and all over the internet to find a solution)

My girlfriend got an older Xbox from his brother, and we wanted to play it on a HD Widescreen plasma TV. We got the component cables and I changed the settings on the UnleashX Dashboard to enable Widescreen/480p/720p/1080i rebooted and nothing happened. The games looked exactly as before, no change on the resolution, except that some games like "Burnout: Takeout" and "Matrix: Path of Neo" wouldn't fit the screen properly as they used to without the component cable. After searching the internetz for a solution, I found out that, I needed to enable the HD options on the MS Dashboard as well. Problem was that I didn't found how to do that, then I learned that I had an older version of UnleashX. Tried to update it through the FTP Flash. However, I feared that the Xbox would fry, so I just installed it in the Apps folder. It worked, and now I have the MS Dashboard boot option. But when I clicked there, nothing happened, it just freezed on the loading screen. So, searching (yet again) the forums, I saw that it was possible booting the MS Dashboard through the File Explorer App. I clicked on the file named "original.xbe" it went on the loading screen of the MS Dashboard, and then I got the Error 21.