1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My computer is shutting down?????

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by brianson, Nov 24, 2005.

  1. brianson

    brianson Guest

    Ever since I've been downloading torrents now and then (like 4 times a day) my computer just shuts down. I don't even have to be using it at the time...I'll just be sitting there and then all of a sudden it turns off and restarts. Any ideas or suggestions on how to fix it?

    Also, it is taking forever (30 seconds) to open the window when I open My Computer and also when I'm selecting a drive to save to. Any ideas what's wrong here?

    Thanks all, I would appreciate the help.
     
  2. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    maybe your using to much of the system resources, how much ram do you have?
     
  3. Alien13

    Alien13 Guest

    This has been happening with my old, computer all of a sudden it will just restart its self :(

    It has 192 mb of ram/memory
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,185
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    128
    & how much ram is free & what windows??
     
  5. Alien13

    Alien13 Guest

    Its windows XP home SP2. And it says in windows task manager :

    Physical memory (k)

    Total 196084
    Available 571xx
    System cache 565xx
     
  6. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    your basically running on fumes -Alien13- you might consider in investing on more ram.

    As soon as you use up all system resources your computer will either freeze or restart.
     
  7. Alien13

    Alien13 Guest

    Ahh ok, thanks. Yeah i was planning on getting more ram anyways, so now i have an excuse to tell my mum to let me get it :) Thanks :)

    What would you reccomend ? 128 or 512 ?
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,185
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what type of ram are you using now? how many ram slots do you have & how many are occupied? i think you are using sdram not ddr if not loosing 64meg to onboard video as i don't think they made 64meg ddr ram. so you have a 128meg + 64meg for 192meg total if not using 64meg for onboard video.
     
  9. Alien13

    Alien13 Guest

    Yeah, im using SDRAM and 64mb was what we started off with then we put in 128mb for xp.

    Also the problem has gotten worse we turn on the computer and it asks:

    turn on in :

    safe mode
    safe mode w/ networking

    last good config

    start normally

    and we click normally and it restarts :(
     
  10. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    next time click on last good config, seems like you had windows crash on you or a serious error.
     
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,185
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    128
    how many ram slots on motherboard??
     
  12. Alien13

    Alien13 Guest

    Well, i went to last good config but it just restarted :(

    And it has 3 slots for ram. Max it can use is 1.5gb .

    We are thinking of using the xp CD and repairing windows, would that work ?
     
  13. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    never had to use XP cd repair but if you are still having issues then I would do it.

    Im sure -ddp- would know and im sure he will be back in this thread to give more advice.

    Post back and let us know if XP repair worked.
     
  14. Alien13

    Alien13 Guest

    ahh ok :) Well, i do the repair now and let you know what happened :)

    Thanks :)
     
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,185
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    128
    go with the 512meg. could also try a system restore unless this problem has been going on for a while.
     
  16. Alien13

    Alien13 Guest

    Ahh ok will get the 512 one then :) And the restarting has been hapening for a few days, but the not being able to get into windows has only been happening since yesterday :(
     
  17. kaledrr

    kaledrr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    may be is the cpu running hot?
    I hade prblem like this, turned out one of pci is dammeged


     
  18. Alien13

    Alien13 Guest

    Well, i can now get back into windows, but the restarting is still happening :(

    How do i check the CPU ?
     
  19. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,185
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    128
    check in the bios for hardware monitor
     
  20. Alien13

    Alien13 Guest

    Ahh ok thanks :)


    I think it has stopped doing it now, but im not sure ??
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 28, 2005

Share This Page