1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

my first build

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by Strazza, Jan 16, 2008.

1. Strazza

Strazza Guest

i have a max budget of $1000 but would prefer to keep the price around $900. i'm starting completely from scratch. i don't even have a keyboard and mouse lol.
    being able to play games would be nice but it's definitely not the most important thing. i'm more interested in just having a PC that doesn't frustrate me by freezing every couple of minutes.
    i've had a bit of a look around sites like newegg but as this is my first time building a pc i'm not sure what to look for.
    what should i do to squeeze the most out of my budget?
    oh and i live in australia so could someone advise me on a good and credible place to order parts from.
    edit: my budget is in american dollars.

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 16, 2008
  2. ugc

ugc Regular member

in my opinion, if you have a limited amount you are wanting to spend, you would be better off buying a system all ready put together.

if you build it yourself, by the time you got all the hardware together, you need software to run it, and that is just more money.

and buying everything a piece at a time usually cost more.

3. sammorris

sammorris Senior member

4. ugc

ugc Regular member

I added up everything listed and it totals 978.93 before shipping. Plus, the case listed does not include a power supply.

In addition, you need an OS.

So, things to think about before you make your own, or get one ready to go.

5. sammorris

sammorris Senior member

Indeed. I'll wait back for a reply from Strazza before I know where he wants to spend less or more.

6. abuzar1

abuzar1 Senior member

Yes well the OS is free. He could downgrade a few things to meet his budget. No matter what a custom build is always worth more for your money.

7. sammorris

sammorris Senior member

Agreed.

8. Strazza