1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My first PC/DVR build Help

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by g0ds360, Mar 7, 2010.

1. g0ds360

g0ds360 Member

Well today I realized that I had this old dell dimension 4600 for too long. It just doesn’t have the power or the room to upgrade so I want to build a new computer. I’m new to this so whatever input I could get would help out a lot. The pc will be used for multi. so here is what I would like to do with it. Video editing, gaming, school work for online classes, xbox 360 backups and modding, multi disk burning, Dvr and a cam set up. Here is what I been looking at so far.

Case - Thermaltake ArmorPlus(Armor+) VH6000BWS Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case $190 newegg.com

Motherboard - GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard $209.99 newegg.com

CPU - Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor - $288.99 newegg.com

CPU COOLER - ZALMAN CNPS9900ALED 120mm 2 Ball Low-noise Blue LED CPU Cooler - $80.00 newegg.com

PSU - Rosewill BRONZE series RBR1000-M 1000W Continuous@40°C, 80Plus Bronze Certified,Modular Cable Design,ATX12V v2.3/ EPS12V,SLI Ready,CrossFire Ready,Active PFC"Compatible with Core i7, i5" Power Supply $ 130 newegg.com

Memory - G.SKILL 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9T-6GBNQ $164 newegg.com

Memory cooler - G.SKILL FTB-3500C6-S Fans $ 12.98 newegg.com

2x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner / Encoder 1229 PCI-Express x1 Interface $114 newegg.com

Sound card - Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional 70SB088600002 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card $ 160 newegg.com