1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My last chance on linux!

Discussion in 'Linux - General discussion' started by lecsiy, Dec 30, 2006.

1. lecsiy

lecsiy Regular member

Hey,

Right ive been having this problem for soo long its driving me crazy. Im a bit of a newbie but im eager to lear when it comes to linux. Actually what am i saying I KNOW NOTHING about linux!

Ok, now im trying to install my Netgear WG311T pci card to my suse linux. The internet around my house is WEP encrypted i know the key soo thats all good.

Now it wont work out of the box which is really annoying soo after hours of researching something i know soo little about i kept coming back to something called ndiswrapper. Not sure what that is but i downloaded it. It was a .tar gz file if that makes any sense. I then right clicked it and extracted to desktop. Soo now i had a useless folder on the computer called ndiswarpper somethihg .gz . Fine, then i read somewere i had to download a 2000 version of my netgear driver. Fine i did that, then it said something like. To install do:

Ndiswrappeer -1 Something something!

And i was sitting there scracthing my head saying WTF!!

Soo thats basically were i am at!

Can any one please help me this is soo annoying to have linux on my pc and not be ablt to use it propely!

O and if your wondering the way im on the internet is i dual boot winh xp and linux!!

Thanks for any help!

Lecsiy

2. janrocks

janrocks Guest

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 30, 2006
  3. lecsiy

lecsiy Regular member

Thanks for your help but one problem. Im quoting from the top link it says:

How do you "do" ndiswrapper? And what is the sign after the -??

Thats what gets me!

Thanks jan for above post..

4. janrocks

janrocks Guest

The sign after the -??.. Could it be a lowercase L as in -l or maybe an upper I.. can't tell with the font I use as default.