Need a new DivX-player with these specs...

Discussion in 'DVD players' started by jay-jay, Aug 1, 2005.

1. jay-jay

jay-jay Member

I've been researching this on the net for the last 6 hours or so, but I haven't been able to find one that meets my specifications yet.

I've been using an Elta 8882 for the last 2 or 3 years or so, and for the most part it suited me just fine. Only real downer is that they aren't made to last, and the last one I've been able to get my hands on just died on me... *sob* *sob*

So now I'm searching for a DivX-player which has at least the same capabilities as that old Elta 8882.

That means it has to be able to play (and play them smoothly!):

CD-R, CD-RW, DVD+R, DVD+RW
    Region 2 DVD's
    MP3 (up to 320 kb/s), with an option to shuffle the tracks.
    DivX and XviD (with CBR MP3, VBR MP3, AC3 and WMA audio)
    Preferably srt subtitle support with XviD's, though that's not really essential.
    VCD, SVCD and plain MPG files.
    PACKED BITSTREAMS!!

For some reason, all the newer DivX-players can't handle XviD's with packed bitstreams anymore (picture gets jerky), so you have to unpack those with MPEG4Modifier first. This is too much of a hassle to me, plus I already have dozens of rips with packed bitstreams burned and well, which I don't really want to modify and burn again...
    Really weird, how newer players lose the ability to play certain files. Must be some real dumb-a**es making the software for those players...

Anyways, if ANYONE here knows of a player which can handle all this, please let me know. I'm really desperate for a new player soon, but it really needs to meet these specifications...

2. gear79

gear79 Guest

try this one......................
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/214560