1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need advice for laptop purchase

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by pmaknelho, Nov 27, 2005.

1. pmaknelho

pmaknelho Regular member

I'm interested in buying a laptop but I'm a noob when it comes to hardware. My needs:

1. I would like to be able to run multiple windows/programs
    Ex: play cards online/rip a DVD/download/listen to music at the same time.

2. I currently have cable interent, but would like to get on the net wireless. Do this mean I need some sort of wireless router set up at my house?

3. Battery life would be somewhat important.

4. Is there a way to hook it up to my TV and record shows like Tivo?
    I already own a 120GB external HDD.

I don't need:
    1. A pretty screen or powerful video card since I don't intend to play any games on it.

2. Size and weight don't matter much to me either.

Any advice, specs, or est. price would be great.
    Thanks guys

2. rooster33

rooster33 Guest

seems to me you have pretty basic needs for a laptop. there are a couple things i would recommend though.
    1. make sure you don't get a pentium 4 processor. i have made this mistake along with many others. i got a dell pentium 4 laptop and soon after i started using it, it would overheat and shutdown. this is very typical for p4 laptops, especially dell. i've seen it happen many times. get a pentium M or centrino processor (or the new AMD turion mobile). you'll be much happier
    2. get internal wireless. most newer laptops will come with this, but make sure anyway. you don't want to have to plug a wireless adaptor in just to use the internet. you will have to buy a wireless router to "broadcast" your internet all over your home. i would reccomend linksys routers for that (good name to go with and great tech support)