1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help backing CD collection to external hard drive

Discussion in 'Audio' started by MUNEYG, Jan 14, 2009.

1. MUNEYG

MUNEYG Member

I'm trying to find the best and fastest way to back up my 500+CD collection.

I have a 500GB external hard drive I would like to put them in.
    Would rather bypass the whole Itunes thing since that is currently on the C drive of my laptop.

Want to rip directly to the external while using the best way to maintain CD-quality sound. So, I guess that eliminates MP3's, right?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

2. bryston

bryston Regular member

3. gbroman

gbroman Regular member

MUNEYG, I'm not an expert at ripping CD's to HDD but you will have to use the Exact Audio Copy that bryston suggested or dbpowerAmp Music Converter, the ripper part of it. I use dbpowerAmp myself.
    As I said I am new to the WAV and Flac formats and am amazed to find that a folder containing, say, 50MB of audio files compressed to MP3 format can be 400MB or more of Uncompressed audio as it is on one of your commercial CD's.
    5oo original albums on a 500GB HDD might just go, but if some of your album collection are double,or triple CD you won't have the space necessary to do a Defrag, should one be necessary.
    Also, the 500GB HDD in real terms will be a 488GB HDD.
    Good luck.
    I need a 500GB+ HDD myself.

4. bryston

bryston Regular member

I forgot to mention that last I heard, exact audio copy was free !

5. gbroman

gbroman Regular member

Excellent! That makes EAC a Must Have. :D

6. gbroman

gbroman Regular member

7. MUNEYG

MUNEYG Member

one thing I forgot to add is....I would like to be able to drag/drop files to my itunes whenever I wanted. So, maybe saving these in FLAC won't be the best idea? or am i wrong? I am not familiar with this format. would i have to convert them to mp3 or wav to get them on to itunes?