1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help upgrading computer

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by dshah101, Jul 30, 2007.

  1. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    It has a P4 530, so I suggest a CPU upgrade in addition to the GPU.
     
  2. EWOcelot

    EWOcelot Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well someone said that the Pentium 4 3.0 that it comes with is powerful enough, and it is for most things, but when I play a high end game it starts to lag just a bit, and for the new games coming out im afraid it wouldnt be good to buy them for the PC. Now I am not sure if it is the CPU or the GPU. But I admit my graphics card isnt that high end. I dont want a $500+ 8800 but I am willing to spend up to $200 give or take. As for the processor I am willing to spend up to 300 for that. But I do not know if it will work with my mobo and I do not know how to install one. My biggest problem is that I will have to buy a 64bit programs (unless there is a 32 bit version). Here are my specs according to mark06

    Operating System Microsoft Windows Vista
    DirectX Version 10.0
    Mobo Manufacturer Intel Corporation
    Mobo Model D915GRO
    AGP Rates (Current/Available) 16x / N/A
    CPU Name Intel Pentium 4 3000 MHz
    CPU String Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz


    HDD Model SAMSUNG SP2004C ATA Device($64.0+)
    Samsung SpinPoint P120 SP2004C - hard drive - 200 GB - SATA-300 (64.0+)
    Store Price In Stock?
    Preferred Computer Parts 64.0 Yes
    Chumbo.com 79.99 Yes
    Server Supply.com Inc 95.0 Yes
    Next Warehouse 96.98 Yes
    Physical / Logical CPUs 1 / 2
    MultiCore 1 Processor Core
    HyperThreading 2 HTT Processors per Core
    FSB 200 MHz
    Memory 2048 MB
    Slot 1 1024 MB DDR($52.0+)
    memory - 1024 MB ( 4 x 256 MB ) - DIMM 208-pin - DDR (52.0+)
    Store Price In Stock?
    ComputerGiants.com Inc. 52.0 Yes
    Pinnacle Technology USA, Inc. 55.8 Yes
    Server Supply.com Inc 110.0 Yes
    memory - 1024 MB ( 2 x 512 MB ) - DDR II (63.0+)
    Store Price In Stock?
    MSPData.com 63.0 Yes
    ComputerGiants.com Inc. 64.31 Yes
    Kahlon Inc. 66.0 Yes
    Discover Trade 90.0 Yes
    Agemicroonline.com 100.0 Yes
    Server Supply.com Inc 105.0 Yes
    Pinnacle Technology USA, Inc. 119.0 Yes
    memory - 1024 MB ( 2 x 512 MB ) - DIMM 240-pin - DDR II (73.7+)
    Store Price In Stock?
    OEMPCWorld.com 73.7 Yes
    Kahlon Inc. 92.0 Yes
    18004Memory.com 118.0 Yes
    MSPData.com 122.0 Yes
    Pinnacle Technology USA, Inc. 142.8 Yes
    Agemicroonline.com 149.0 Yes
    Server Supply.com Inc 150.0 Yes
    ServerNexus.com 150.0 Yes
    ComputerGiants.com Inc. 156.6 Yes
    Infinity Micro 185.0 Yes
    Discover Trade 249.0 Yes
    USA Parts Direct 312.0 Yes
    Sillworks.com 312.0 Yes
    California Computer Center 329.0 Yes
    Memory Upgrades memory - 1024 MB ( 2 x 512 MB ) - DDR (84.85+)
    Store Price In Stock?
    OEMPCWorld.com 84.85 Yes
    Buy.com 94.99 Yes
    TheNerds.net 96.56 Yes
    ComputerHQ.com 105.69 Yes
    memory - 1024 MB ( 2 x 512 MB ) - DIMM 184-pin - DDR (88.0+)
    Store Price In Stock?
    Kahlon Inc. 88.0 Yes
    ComputerGiants.com Inc. 89.38 Yes
    MSPData.com 95.0 Yes
    Pinnacle Technology USA, Inc. 96.6 Yes
    Server Supply.com Inc 110.0 Yes
    18004Memory.com 130.0 Yes
    Slot 2 Empty
    Slot 3 1024 MB DDR($52.0+)
    memory - 1024 MB ( 4 x 256 MB ) - DIMM 208-pin - DDR (52.0+)
    Store Price In Stock?
    ComputerGiants.com Inc. 52.0 Yes
    Pinnacle Technology USA, Inc. 55.8 Yes
    Server Supply.com Inc 110.0 Yes
    memory - 1024 MB ( 2 x 512 MB ) - DDR II (63.0+)
    Store Price In Stock?
    MSPData.com 63.0 Yes
    ComputerGiants.com Inc. 64.31 Yes
    Kahlon Inc. 66.0 Yes
    Discover Trade 90.0 Yes
    Agemicroonline.com 100.0 Yes
    Server Supply.com Inc 105.0 Yes
    Pinnacle Technology USA, Inc. 119.0 Yes
    memory - 1024 MB ( 2 x 512 MB ) - DIMM 240-pin - DDR II (73.7+)
    Store Price In Stock?
    OEMPCWorld.com 73.7 Yes
    Kahlon Inc. 92.0 Yes
    18004Memory.com 118.0 Yes
    MSPData.com 122.0 Yes
    Pinnacle Technology USA, Inc. 142.8 Yes
    Agemicroonline.com 149.0 Yes
    Server Supply.com Inc 150.0 Yes
    ServerNexus.com 150.0 Yes
    ComputerGiants.com Inc. 156.6 Yes
    Infinity Micro 185.0 Yes
    Discover Trade 249.0 Yes
    USA Parts Direct 312.0 Yes
    Sillworks.com 312.0 Yes
    California Computer Center 329.0 Yes
    Memory Upgrades memory - 1024 MB ( 2 x 512 MB ) - DDR (84.85+)
    Store Price In Stock?
    OEMPCWorld.com 84.85 Yes
    Buy.com 94.99 Yes
    TheNerds.net 96.56 Yes
    ComputerHQ.com 105.69 Yes
    memory - 1024 MB ( 2 x 512 MB ) - DIMM 184-pin - DDR (88.0+)
    Store Price In Stock?
    Kahlon Inc. 88.0 Yes
    ComputerGiants.com Inc. 89.38 Yes
    MSPData.com 95.0 Yes
    Pinnacle Technology USA, Inc. 96.6 Yes
    Server Supply.com Inc 110.0 Yes
    18004Memory.com 130.0 Yes
    Slot 4 Empty
    Slot 5 Not present
    Slot 6 Not present
    Slot 7 Not present
    Slot 8 Not present

    Display Information
    Graphics Chipset ATI RADEON X1300
    Graphics Card Vendor Visiontek
    Driver Name VisionTek Radeon X1550 Series
    Driver Version 8.380.0.0
    Driver Status WHQL - FM Approved
    Linked display adapters No
    Video Memory 256 MB
    Core Clock 546 MHz
    Memory Clock 391 MHz

    Benchmark Settings
    Default Settings Yes
    Program Version 3DMark06 Revision 1 Build 0
    Resolution 1280x1024
    Anti-Aliasing None
    Texture Filtering Optimal
    Vertex Shader Profile 3_0
    Pixel Shader Profile 3_0
    Force Full Precision No
    Disable Post-processing No
    Force Software Vertex Shaders No
    Force Software FP Filtering No
    Disable HW Shadow Mapping No
    Color Mipmaps No
    Repeat Count Off
    Fixed Framerate Off

    Main Test Results
    3DMark Score 1245 3DMarks
    SM 2.0 Score 442 Marks
    SM 3.0 Score 488 Marks
    CPU Score 832 Marks

    Detailed Test Results

    Graphics Tests
    1 - Return to Proxycon 3.19 FPS
    2 - Firefly Forest 4.17 FPS

    CPU Tests
    CPU1 - Red Valley 0.262 FPS
    CPU2 - Red Valley 0.423 FPS

    HDR Tests
    1 - Canyon Flight (SM 3.0) 4.37 FPS
    2 - Deep Freeze (SM 3.0) 5.398 FPS

    Feature Tests
    Fill Rate - Single Texturing N/A
    Fill Rate - Multi Texturing N/A
    Pixel Shader N/A
    Vertex Shader - Simple N/A
    Vertex Shader - Complex N/A
    Shader Particles (SM 3.0) Not Supported
    Perlin Noise (SM 3.0) N/A

    Batch Size Tests
    8 Triangles N/A
    32 Triangles N/A
    128 Triangles N/A
    512 Triangles N/A
    2048 Triangles N/A
    32768 Triangles N/A
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2007
  3. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    It's probably a bit of both. However, you may need a new motherboard to support a CPU upgrade. provided you use DDR2 RAM (it's inconclusive from the 3dmark list you showed) thats all you should need for a new CPU, and getting a good CPU for gaming isn't expensive at all really, you could probably get a good board and CPU together for $200. As for the graphics card, you can get an X1950XT for around $200, which'll be great for games, much better than the card you currently have.
     
  4. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Wow, its definetly your gpu, although an upgrade to a C2D would help a lot too. Currently, the best card out there for AGP is the Gecube x1950xt. However, I have one right now, and its rubbish with the stock cooler. I now have it on water cooling, which keeps the temps real low, but this thing hovered around 65-70C on load, which means that you wont be able to over clock it a lot with the stupid TEC cooler thats on it.

    If you have PCI-e, a 7800 by nvidia, or even a 7600 will do. The 7600s are pretty cheap, but they perform fairly well.

    If you can wait till the end of the month, the 8800GT will be released, for around $250 I believe, and its said to be a pretty good card. But then again, if you cant upgrade your processor to a C2D then you will be bottlenecking it a lot.
     
  5. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
  6. EWOcelot

    EWOcelot Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I definetely need a new mobo, and I can afford those things HOWEVER I do not know how to install them correctly.

    Oh and if I do get a new graphics card, my case isnt all that big.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2007
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well you can either pay someone else to do it, or learn how to do it yourself. We'll help you every step of the way.
     
  8. EWOcelot

    EWOcelot Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Biggest problem I see is with the MOBO, i have no experience with that what so ever. And where I live there isnt anyone that can do this. If you can help me through it I might be able to get it done. I would probably like a budget of 300-400 $$ if you choose the parts for me.
     
  9. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Certainly, I can help you out. Installing a motherboard is just like installing any other component really, just on a larger scale, there are more screws to tighten, and more cables to plug in, but other than that it's the same. The CPU is the only potential tricky spot, but it's really not that difficult as long as you use a bit of common sense.
     
  10. EWOcelot

    EWOcelot Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    In that case then yes I will be able to do so with your help. Can you direct me to potential Mobo's/processors I can buy, preferrably on newegg
     
  11. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128059&Tpk=GA-P35-DS3L
    That's a good motherboard, $110
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115030
    A highly powerful CPU, $170
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127284
    A decent graphics card, $130 after rebate
    That sums $410, if you already have the right memory.
    Now, what you'll also need to power this lot is a good power supply. I highly doubt the one that comes with your PC will be sufficient, so grab one of these
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153052
    $45 after a rebate. That's about as cheap as you'll find a power supply that actually works well. Don't go looking for bargain basement PSUs, there may be plenty for very little cost that advertise themselves well, but in truth they can cause BIG problems.
     
  12. EWOcelot

    EWOcelot Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  13. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    That list looks good, but I think a x1950xt will kick a 8600s ass, although you wont be getting the dx10 goodies. If you get a 8600, you will probably want vista, since thats the only way you can get dx10. I think the x1950xt is way better.

    @ sam, I was referring to the AGP Gecube x1950xt, I cant find it on newegg anymore, I guess they stopped selling that card. They do see the PCI-e version though...
     
  14. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Newegg stopped selling the AGP one a while back.

    As for choosing the 8600, I know the X1950XT's faster, but from a personal msn conversation I had with EWOcelot, I found out he has Vista and would like to use Dx10. Since his budget is limited, that's the best option I could come up with.
     
  15. EWOcelot

    EWOcelot Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah since I am heavily modifying my PC anyway, might aswell go DX10. Wasnt sure if My current setup would handle DX10 games well anyways.
     
  16. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well you need either an HD2000 series or 8000 series card in order to use Directx10 anyway. Your X1550 wouldn't support it.
     
  17. dshah101

    dshah101 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi again,
    sorry for not replying after a while.

    Currently my computer is infected with a virus and i am not sure what to do. I am planning on formationg an re-installing windows xp. However, i have important data (about 35 gb) i need to kepp but don't have a usb drive. Is there anyway i can create a partition on my hd and store the files. Then after the format, retrive them.
    Please help, i really need it
     
  18. EWOcelot

    EWOcelot Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    To answer your question to my knowledge, no. When you format your HD it erases everything. Besides it is really important that you have an external HD anyways,and very good antivirus software to boot.
     
  19. dshah101

    dshah101 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    By how come the recovery partitition (hidden) does not delete after i have formated it. Is there anyway i can create a similar partition. Please Help
     
  20. dshah101

    dshah101 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is there any software which will create a similar partition like the recovery partition. Thx. Your help is really needed
     

Share This Page