1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with Arabic subtitle

Discussion in 'Subtitle help' started by dsmr, Jul 19, 2008.

1. dsmr

dsmr Member

Well, this is my first time posting, usually I get the answer through searching but not this time. I think my problem is not related to Arabic subtitle only, many other languages face the same problem...

Lately, I tried to add subtitles to some video files (mostly .avi) I have and convert them to DVD.

After searching and comparing products I decide to install the latest ConvertXToDVD, it's prety good program and very easy.

Now to the subtitle I want to add, I knew that there're some programs that can show subtitles like VLC, so after downloading the subtitle files I tried to test the subtitle to know how it appears, the English subtitle appeared very normal and perfect but when I tried the Arabic, it appeared like this: ÇÒ æÞÊí ˜å 25 ÓÇáã ÈæÏ, even when I opened it with Notepad it appeared just the same.

This realy makes me confused, I searched and read many forums about the problem, the only solution I get there is to change the Regional Option from English to Arabic. I chnaged it, after this it appeared normal characters in Notepad but with VLC the letters appear separated, if you know about Arabic letters, all the letters in a word are joined together but here they're separated.

I tried a lot to solve this, changing the Encoding, the file type, ... nothing happened it was the same every time, separated Arabic letters.

I finally decide to make the DVD and see if it's appear the same in the DVD Player (cause may be there's erorr in the machine). when I played it, the weird thing I saw is the same first erorr (i.e.: character appears ÇÒ æÞÊí ˜å 25 ÓÇáã ÈæÏ), I even play it with PowerDVD on my computer but it was the same.