1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need help with my new hard drive

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by smash22, Feb 13, 2007.

1. smash22

smash22 Regular member

hey guys i just got a new internal hard drive EIDE WD 250g 8 mb cache 7200 rpm. Ok so i installed the drive, but its going really slow. For example i tried to move a 4.35 g movie file from my original hard drive (master) to my new drive (slave) and it took about 45 mins, which is too long. Also it would take 1hr and 1/2 to burn a iso from my new drive(slave), which usually only takes about 10 to 15 mins on my original drive(master). I also have a external WD and it would only take 4 mins to transfer a 4.35g movie file back and forth. So im trying figure out whats the problem any ideas would be very useful thanks.

i have my original drive as master and my new drive as slave. Can have a stronger IDE cable help speed things up?? thanks again guys

2. vamsilak

vamsilak Regular member

no
    take off the slave hd from ur pc
    don't mess up ur pc
    go buy an ext hd hub and insert in it and use it as ext hd
    u r slowing down the pc by installing to hd's
    ext hd it woeks much easier

3. smash22

smash22 Regular member

ok, good idea! So just get a external housing usb 2.0 casing right? do i have to delete the info thats already on there? Hey thanks can you lead me towards a couple cases i could possibly looking into getting thanks again

4. ddp

ddp Moderator Staff Member

smash, is that new hd running on dma or pio in device manager under ide controllers

5. smash22

smash22 Regular member

very good question how would i check it, im going to look in device manager and let you know whats there, thanks for the help and i'll be right back

6. smash22

smash22 Regular member

[​IMG]