1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with re-install of MS XP Pro on a Sony Vaio PCV-RZ32G machine

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by AZGiovann, Dec 17, 2009.

  1. AZGiovann

    AZGiovann Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am re-building a Sony Vaio PCV-RZ32G http://www2.dealtime.com/xPF-Sony-VAIO-Digital-Studio-PCV-RZ32G machine with Windows XP Pro OS (Not OEM) and can not get the disk drive to pick up the CD? The disk works as I have used it on other builds recently.

    The HD is a Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 and have attempted on the Master, Slave, and Cable select jumper settings.
    http://www.seagate.com/support/disc/manuals/ata/cuda7200pm.pdf

    I have pulled the on-board backup battery to reset the BIOS with no luck.

    Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

    Oh BTW these are PATA and have the following:
    80G HD
    CD Drive
    CD-RW Drive
    Floppy Drive
     
  2. scum101

    scum101 Guest

    sounds like the cd drive isn't working to me .. not great drives in these.. they tend to fail completely.

    boot something else to test.
     
  3. AZGiovann

    AZGiovann Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks scum101

    It has both a CD Drive and CD-RW Drive and at boot up I can hear them starting but then stop. I have gone through this before with another brand machine and thought it might be how the jumper settings are done on the different components.

    Do you know how the HD, CD Drive, & CD-RW Drive jumper settings need to be configured?

    Thanks
     
  4. dailun

    dailun Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    IHMO, the HDD should be MASTER on the Primary HDD controller

    On the secondary controller, one optical device should be master and the other slave.
     
  5. AZGiovann

    AZGiovann Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Primary IDE Master [Hard Drive]
    Primary IDE Slave [Not Detected]
    Secondary IDE Master [CD-ROM]
    Secondary IDE Slave [DVD-RW]

    At boot up I get the cursor in top left corner of screen and I hear the CD-ROM drive run then stop, run then stop, run then stop, then it boots up windows.

    Boot Device Priority is set:
    1st Boot Device [CD-ROM]
    2nd Boot Device [Hard Drive]
    3rd Boot Device [CD-ROM]

    Any thoughts?
     
  6. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    78
    change boot order so the 3 is now 2 & the hdd is 3,if your cd drive has failed your dvd drive should boot the disk now instead of booting to windows tho place xp in drive 2
     
  7. AZGiovann

    AZGiovann Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I do not have that option. The DVD-RW does not show up in the list of device options?
     
  8. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    78
    windows default on all drives is cd regardless,if you can't boot from 1st & the 2nd drive isn't being searched for bootable media then switch drives around so the dvd is now your master
     
  9. AZGiovann

    AZGiovann Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ScorpNZ are you suggesting this config?

    Primary IDE Master [DVD-RW]
    Primary IDE Slave [Not Detected]
    Secondary IDE Master [Hard Drive]
    Secondary IDE Slave [Not Detected]
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2009
  10. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    78
    not quite,go to BIOS first & change the hdd from 2nd boot device to third,then change cd to second (where it said it was 3rd),so both cd are 1st & 2nd then hdd 3rd as boot priority then place xp into DVD drive Z& see if it boots,by rights it should boot anyway without having to change bios as my comp searches both drives before heading to the hdd & mines set like so & i have dual dvd drives
    1st-floppy
    2nd-dvd
    3rd-hdd


    if that don't work it's up to you if you want to switch them back again to the original BIOS position,anyway if it didn't work out it is then necessary to physically change the master/slave on the cd drives only,i do it by switching drive bays & switching the IDE cable then switch the settings to master/slave tho cs will work as well.

    actually just have the newer drive connected as master & see if it boots then if it's ok try out the other drive the same way if it won't boot it probably means it's shot or not
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2009
  11. AZGiovann

    AZGiovann Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am unable to make CD boot option 1 & 2 so this is what I've tried:

    Primary IDE Master [Hard Drive]
    Primary IDE Slave [Not Detected]
    Secondary IDE Master [DVD-RW]
    Secondary IDE Slave [Not Detected]

    Boot Order:
    1st Boot Device [Floppy]
    2nd Boot Device [CD-ROM]
    3rd Boot Device [Hard Drive]

    NO GO

    Primary IDE Master [DVD-RW]
    Primary IDE Slave [Not Detected]
    Secondary IDE Master [Hard Drive]
    Secondary IDE Slave [Not Detected]

    Boot Order:
    1st Boot Device [Floppy]
    2nd Boot Device [CD-ROM]
    3rd Boot Device [Hard Drive]

    NO GO

    What jumper settings do you want the CD and DVD drives set to? Slave for both? And then have HD as Master?
     
  12. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Primary IDE as far as i know should always be hdd never a cd drive



    try this setup but put the DVD-RW drive on SECONDARY SLAVE & use pin jumper on master & see if it works,if it does the secondary master IDE channel is borked or you have a faulty IDE ribbon
    Primary IDE Master [Hard Drive]
    Primary IDE Slave [Not Detected]
    Secondary IDE Master [Not Detected]
    Secondary IDE Slave [DVD-RW]

    Boot Order:
    1st Boot Device [Floppy]
    2nd Boot Device [CD-ROM]
    3rd Boot Device [Hard Drive]

    If it don't work use jumper pin on DVD to cable select [cs] instead of master
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2009
  13. AZGiovann

    AZGiovann Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Attempted what you advised above and my results were:
    Primary IDE Master [Hard Drive]
    Primary IDE Slave [Not Detected]
    Secondary IDE Master [CD ROM]
    Secondary IDE Slave [Not Detected]

    Boot Order:
    1st Boot Device [Floppy]
    2nd Boot Device [CD-ROM]
    3rd Boot Device [Hard Drive]

    Tried (Primary) HD jumper set to Master, (Secondary) CD & DVD ROM's set to Cable Select and NO GO.

    Was that correct?
     
  14. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    78
    you have the dvd drive on secondary master instead secondary slave,once dvd drive is in place set the jumper pin to master if that doesn't work reset pin to cs,if that don't work reset pin to slave if all that fails i have no idea what the issue could,since the original cd drive was actually showing as there it's hard to know where else to look
     
  15. AZGiovann

    AZGiovann Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How do I get the DVD to Secondary Master? Do I unplug the CD ROM?
     
  16. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    78
    The original ribbon for the cd drives has two plugs yes,placing the second IDE plug on the dvd drive is the one to try without having the cd drive attached,actually just removing the power plug on the cd drive should do it,once done set jumper pin on the back of dvd drive to master,if it fails to boot the xp cd try changing the pin to cs then to slave

    Edit: make sure in the bios the cd boots before hdd if boot priority is

    floppy
    cd
    hdd

    then change nothing,tho if you like to make boot time a fraction faster if you don't use floppy just move them all up one place like you had originally

    cd
    hdd
    cd

    Also make sure the IDE ribbon is in place on the mobo gently apply pressure to be sure
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2009
  17. AZGiovann

    AZGiovann Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks ScorpNZ! I owe you a beer ;)!

    Final configuration:

    IDE Order:
    Primary IDE Master [Hard Drive]
    Primary IDE Slave [Not Detected]
    Secondary IDE Master [DVD-RW]
    Secondary IDE Slave [Not Detected]

    Boot Order:
    1st Boot Device [Floppy]
    2nd Boot Device [DVD-RW]
    3rd Boot Device [Hard Drive]

    Key Note: (Left PATA and Power cord unplugged from CD-ROM).

    Hopefully install goes smoothly with no issues.

    1 last question?.... How will the re-connection of the CD-ROM end up after the OS is installed? Will windows just identify it as found new hardware and should be good to go?

    I really do appreciate it.
     
  18. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Did the xp disk boot ?

    if so which IDE plug is in the dvd-rw (the one that would normally be the master plug if you only had one drive or is it on the second plug as if it were a slave as tho you had two drives & you have set the slave as master,if it did boot xp disk,try putting that dvd-rw on what should really be the master IDE plug in other words try the other plug

    as for after xp is installed the cd-rom should auto detect if nothings wrong with the IDE ribbon or the mobo IDE controller,however some comps prefer if two drives installed for the pins to be set as cable select or set as master/slave with the pin jumpers,so if you find that when both drives are connected things turn to custard play with the pin settings

     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2009
  19. scum101

    scum101 Guest

    gods teeth .. unplug everything but the cd drive and check the bios detects it .. then see if it will boot. cable position doesn't matter.. master/slave doesn't matter as long as the devices on each cable are set to one or the other not the same.. rocket science this is not!

    even an old pentium2 will boot from any of the 4 ide devices so check the bios boot devices priority. with only one device connected it should be simple enough to work out.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2009
  20. AZGiovann

    AZGiovann Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes

    The DVD-RW is plugged in the normal plug (1st) and I left the CD-ROM (2nd) unplugged both IDE and Power.

    The configuration showed as the following and the disk booted right up.

    Primary IDE Master [Hard Drive]
    Primary IDE Slave [Not Detected]
    Secondary IDE Master [DVD-RW]
    Secondary IDE Slave [Not Detected]

    Jumper settings are Hard Drive (Master) and DVD-RW (Master).
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2009

Share This Page