1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need INFORMATION on RAID!

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by CKY_2084, Feb 5, 2005.

1. CKY_2084

CKY_2084 Guest

Im new to the whole RAID idea. I use my PC mostly for backing up DVDs, Gaming, and Graphic Design with Photoshop and I heard that RAID 0 is bad for using DVD Shrink, so I will need something that works with Shrink. Im looking more for speed than anything else. So can I get more speed in a RAID Setup over a ATA setup and still be able to play my games and use DVD SHRINK? My mobo has a RAID setup already but I want to use a RAID CARD instead, any suggestions on a good one?

1: How many RAID configurations are there?

2: Is RAID worth the extra money?

3: Which RAID is better for gaming and using DVD Shrink to back up DVDs?

4: Is it safe?

5: Should I use SATA RAID or ATA RAID, I would like to go with the SATA but not familiard on SATA devices so are there any issues like booting from SATA? Should I get a smaller HD as a system boot drive then use my bigger drives to run my programs off us, how does it all work?

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 5, 2005
  2. Noqoilpi

Noqoilpi Regular member

Sorry I am not an expert. One will drop by sometime.
    I have a Promise Fast Trak card that came with my Dell. I have two 160 GB hard drives set on RAID 0.
    1) RAID is set up 0 or 1. Mirror(1), Striping (0) or Striping / Mirroring (RAID 0+1).

2) Worth depends on your needs.

3) RAID 0 is faster. Thus better for games and backups.

4) I have had no problems on RAID 0 but Mirror is the safest. You alwasy have a backup of your hard drive.

5) I have a SATA and again no trouble.

Just my 2 cents. I let the experts take from here.

3. Praetor

Praetor Moderator Staff Member

0, 1, 0+1,3,4,5,6,10,50 are a few that I can recall of the top of my head. There's also that Intel Matrix RAID stuff