1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need some advice on purchasing cd-rs

Discussion in 'CD-R(W) Media' started by Bliz, Nov 13, 2002.

1. Bliz

Bliz Guest

i've burn hundreds, if not thousands, of memorex black cdrs. memorex (only the black ones) has been the brand i've been using for a while, and have very little problem with them. but, as some of u have pointed out in other threads, they dun make their own discs, and since cmc is one of the manufacturers they use, it's quite risky. besides, memorex blacks aren't cheap. so i was thinking if switching to another brand may be a good idea. i'm looking for a quality brand that makes their own discs, or ONLY use good manufacturers. that way, i dun have to worry bout taking any risk. in other words, i'm asking, what r the brands they r risk-free?

my burner is a TDK veloCD 8/4/32. i've been using that for 2 years now, and it's still burning great. below r the stores that r near where i live, and i plan on getting cds from them:
    future shop
    http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/subclass.asp?logon=&langid=EN&dept=1&WLBS=fs-web4&catid=12500
    staples
    http://www.staples.ca/products/cata...3&class_id=60202&class_name=CDR+&+CD-RW+Media

correct me if i m wrong to make the following early decisions:
    for future shop, i've already ruled out the very cheap ones, like cicero and cursor. sony is ruled out due to their mediocre reputation in cdr. memorex and verbatim r ruled out cuz they r risky. that leaves me with only a few, like mitsumi, which i think most of u will recommend. but i still wanna ask u all cuz i can't be sure if they make their own discs. gigastorage, they r pretty cheap, and i've also heard some good things bout them. but cheap and good... is that really the case with giga? also, what is mso? good/bad, or is it jus some misc. initials and not a manufacturer really?