1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nero And DVD Authoring....Again

Discussion in 'Video to DVD' started by AzraSound, Apr 19, 2005.

1. AzraSound

AzraSound Member

Hey everyone,
    Okay, I am new to DVD authoring, but I have done a lot of reading on this topic, and I'm hoping I have just missed some vital information. I have burned several video files (*.avi) to DVD-R fine with Nero and they playback well on my standalone DVD player(s). However, when I try to burn a DVD folder (VIDEO_TS folder) it does not work. Burning completes, no errors appear, but it just won't play.

I have read here and in other forums of different settings to use, such as choosing DVD UDF or DVD UDF/ISO and ensuring I use file system version 1.02, or if choosing ISO, using level 1 parameters and disabling all Joliet options and relaxed restrictions. I do get that message:

"You have added DVD-Video content to a compilation that will not result in a DVD-Video compliant disc"

when I try and tinker with the options, but I read that I could ignore it. If I use the default DVD-Video profile with Nero, the message does not appear. I have tried both checking, and unchecking the option that states "Force DVD-Video compatibility mode (required for XBox TM) to no avail. I'm tired of making coasters!!

Anyways, the other thing to note is that these "failed" attempts play on my XBox (aside from when I do not check the option to force compatibility), just not on either of my two standalone DVD players.

So, the question is, is it just Nero can't burn these VIDEO_TS folders properly, or am I missing something? If its the former, please offer me an alternative solution as this is driving me crazy!

Tony

2. rebootjim

rebootjim Active member

How did you acquire the VIDEO_TS folder (with it's associated .vob's and stuff inside)?
    Did YOU encode and author it in some program?

3. AzraSound

AzraSound Member