1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NeroVCD Audio Out of Synch

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by Krash, Mar 11, 2003.

1. Krash

Krash Guest

I tried burning an AVI movie onto a CD. It works fine - Great picture and audio quality - but the soundtrack is slightly out of synch (by a second or so) with the action on the screen. (I.E. it looks like a badly dubbed movie cos the voices start before the mouths start moving!)
    I am very new to this but have seen a lot of forum posts regarding 'CODECS' that fix this.
    The AVI was burnt to the CD using NERO Burning Rom which changes it to a VCD. The DVD player reads it as a VCD which is great. But does anyone know how I get the sound in synch with the picture?

2. Dela

Dela Administrator Staff Member

Never use nero for encoding because it does a terrible job at it!! Use TMPGEnc to encode it.

With TMPGEnc, you can easily click file - project wizard and create a new vcd! VCD is MPEG-1 so the quality isnt great but for the first 30 days you can encode mpeg-2 (svcd) which will have much higher quality than vcd but will take its time. You can also buy TMPGEnc plus from the pegasys inc website http://www.pegasys-inc.net for about $50 for a download which is very good for an encoder capable of mpeg-2 encoding. You can also get the free version of TMPGEnc from http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/video_tools/tmpgenc.cfm

3. Krash

Krash Guest

Tried this earlier with the free version but think I F**ked up as it created two files in the destination folder. 1 was a .mpeg and the other was a .wav. When I tried to burn them using nero, it didn't want to know.
    I have since got hold of a copy of TMPGEnc retail and am trying again.
    Will let you know in about 3-4 hours after the first disc has finished encoding!
    Cheers

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 11, 2003
  4. demonikon

demonikon Member