1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nerovision Express 2 Transcoding Problems

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by Hywel, Sep 1, 2004.

  1. bull3964

    bull3964 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Codecs are very much necessary if you want to play video files on the computer or if you want to edit or encode files with programs such as VirtualDub. I will not accecpt uninstalling all codecs as a valid solution to this problem.

    I'm not about to cripple the operation of my PC over one program's inability to play nice with other software. If incompatibility with external codecs is a problem, then the program needs to be patched to ignore those external codecs and just use it's internal ones to decode video.
     
  2. gabber88

    gabber88 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi everyone
    I just joined the forum have been reading it for some time hoping to find a solution to my problem, but i'm afraid the problem is still there.
    I am using NVE2 to convert AVI files to DVD so i can watch them on my DVD player. The problem is in the transcoding process. Most of the files get stuck some of the way in.... there is a current running time and a total running time bar, and the current running time remaining time will get caught and not move anymore. Therefore the gap between the current time and the total time that the movie has converted gets larger and larger. Im making it complicated but basically the transcoding gets stuck it stays on a particular time and wont move anymore. The elapsed time and remaining time no longer change for the current time bar.
    I have noticed that the time at which this happens is the same for particular movies also. If i am trying to convert, for example, a movie 'X', it will get caught at 10min 42sec in, with about six hours to go. If i try it again it will again get caught at 10:42!
    Different movies get caught at different times. Some a couple of minutes in, others a couple of hours in.
    I have tried to do the one pass quick option and tried NTSC and PAL. Nothing helps. I have increased my virtual memory. I have uninstalled NVE2 and reinstalled. The problem remains. Some movies burn successfully, but the majority get stuck and the time wont move in the first half of the transcoding process.
    There is no error message and when i try and abort it doesnt, i have to go to task manager and click on end program about ten timeuts down. If i dont shut it down it just stays on the same elapsed time/remaining time forever and doesnt move.
    This is driving me insane and as i dont know an awful lot about computers i dont know what else to do.
    I am happy with the result when they do work, but about 8 out of 10 don't.
    Wondering if anyone out there can help me?
    Thanks :)
     
  3. jastewart

    jastewart Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    A while ago, I posted something about NVE not working. Well, I have now received a reply from Ahead support!!

    Here it is - I have not had time to try it, but I hope some will find it useful (I had sent them the output from their infotool.exe):

    [start]
    There are drivers left on your system from another burning software.
    Please use the driver clean tool in order to disable these drivers.
    Download cleanpack.zip from ftp://ftp9.nero.com/attach/cleanpack.zip
    Extract the zipped files onto your hard disk using WinZip or WinRar.
    You should now have two files: Driver-CleanTool.exe and RegistryChecker.exe.
    First, run Driver-CleanTool.exe by double-clicking it.
    Driver-CleanTool will deactivate drivers that caused problems in Nero in the past.
    Confirm the deactivation of the drivers displayed in order to prevent known driver conflicts from reoccurring in the future.
    These drivers also exist, with values, in the registry in Windows NT, 2000 and XP.
    In order to ensure that these are also deactivated you will need to run the RegistryChecker file.

    The Registry Checker will run very quickly. It is likely that you won't see any action after double clicking the file.
    Note: Running the Registry Checker is not necessary for Windows ME, 98SE, 98 or 95.
    [end]

     
  4. bbblues71

    bbblues71 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    While the old driver removal trick would be great "if" that will fix your problem, if not here's some simple rules to follow and you'll be all set.

    1. Uninstall Divx
    2. Install FFDshow, which will allow you to code Divx3, 4, 5, and Xvid files without a hitch. Also, if you have a strong enough processor I would enable post-processing and turn up the strength to 512. Seems to help me at least.
    3. Also, "if you want to" you can also install Koepi's Xvid Codec. Then have Koepi's do Divx 5 files and Xvid files, and disable those two types of file types within ffdshow. Koepi's, for me at least, gives better resolution for Xvid and Divx5 coded files than ffdshow, although ffdshow still does a good job with those two "if" post-processing is turned on as well as the strength boosted to 512. However, Koepi's doesn't seem to do Divx 3 or 4 coded files like ffdshow can.

    No matter what, if you're talking about getting, ahem, "movie-length files" to burn, most of the ones on the net seem to be coded in the Divx3 format, and the new Divx 5.2.1 codec has TERRIBLE trouble working with Nerovision when trying to decode most Divx3 files. It either sticks or won't create chapters, or both. I wouldn't mess with the Divx 5.2.1 codec till' "someone", either Divx or Ahead Software, fixes the compatibility problem between the new Divx codec and their Nerovision software. Until then, ffdshow seems to be the way to go. I think it has some kind of better, built-in error detectors, so if you get skipped frames or something due to a problematic download it won't "stick" on you while going through ffdshow like it does with the regular Divx codec.

    BT
     
  5. jastewart

    jastewart Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hmmm - I spent ages getting a DVB recorder called DTVRecord balanced, as it were, on the end of a pin to get it to work with myriad encoders/codecs/codine/aspirin/weather conditions etc etc - and IT works, and is, I fear, now reliant on Divx to keep the ship afloat. To further mix metaphors, I fear I would get badly bitten if I messed with Divx et al..
    Some thinking to do...
     
  6. PLeitch

    PLeitch Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Have been watching this with great interest, can someone answer a question on FFDShow before I go uploading and playing with it. Am I right in my reading of these threads and the link to FFDShow I can load an MPEG 1 or 2 video into FFDShow and get an uncompressed AVI file out that I could then import into Adobe Premiere 6.5 to edit and encode back to DVD?
    Has anyone tried this and Can confirm/advise?

    Thanks
     
  7. MysticE

    MysticE Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    @ PLeitch
    Start a new topic, wrong thread to ask this.
     
  8. PLeitch

    PLeitch Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry MysticE, I'm new to these Forums, I thought there was a relevant link, but there you are. I'll go elsewhere.
    Thanks for the advice. - Cheers
     
  9. jastewart

    jastewart Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ref my post above regarding advice about a reg clean up procedure from Ahead - it made no difference; NVE still bombs without trace or warning.

    Life's too short - "what did you do?"
    "I spent quite a few days not getting an mpg file to DVD..."
     
  10. jetcargo

    jetcargo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Having problems with NVE3 3.0.1.4 Try to capture to hard disk using my ATI All-In-Wonder 8500 DV. All appears to go ok with recording. After I try to "Add" this capture to the project, it starts to analyze and then closes NVE3 with no errors. It creates no logs. I attmept to play the .mpg file in Windows media player, and it starts to play, but then video "stutters" and basically freezes although sound continues. I then tried to capture using ATI software. I can import and create chapters/menus/buttons/backgrounds fine. When I attempt to burn the movie, it starts out ok, but loses sync with audio about 3/4 of the way through. I am using a 1hr 20 min file of approx 3.x GB. Of course Nero support is worthless. 3 weeks, 1 generic response and nothing further. Any ideas?

    Hardware Information
    --------------------
    CPU : Intel Pentium 4 2533 MHz
    Bus Speed : 133 MHz
    Motherboard : ASUSTeK P4S8X
    System : System System Name
    BIOS : Award ASUS P4S8X ACPI BIOS Revision 1005
    Memory : 512 MB
    Sound : C-Media Wave Device
    Video : ALL-IN-WONDER RADEON 8500DV

    Operating System : Windows XP Professional (5.01.2600 Service Pack 2)
    DirectX : DirectX 9.0c
     
  11. photog

    photog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Totally unbelievable! Ahead's latest update (Dec) has an update for NBR, which was fine, and NO CHANGE fro NVE which is certainly NOT fine!
    Does Craig know what is going on?

    Ron McDermott
     
  12. photog

    photog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oops, Sorry. i spoke before putting brains into gear.

    Ron
     
  13. capnply

    capnply Guest

    Doesn't help that the old NVE version is 3.0.1.4, the new version is 3.0.1.14 and that they haven't updated the release notes yet!
     
  14. photog

    photog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cnply, you are so right
    Ron
     
  15. ccampbell

    ccampbell Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hello Everyone,

    Sorry for not posting something on this topic for some time, but I've been on the road for some time now and have not been able to look into this more deeply personally.

    Our Engineers are aware of this thread, and visit it regularly to see what is being reported by users.

    The issue with NVE re-encoding MPEG-2 compliant files is known, and being worked on. NVE does not do this to all MPEG-2 files, but it does do so for far too many. The current NVE 3.0.1.14 has improved on detecting MPEG-2 compliant files, but I have not tested it yet to see just how much it has been improved.

    The issues with conflict with other codec's such as DivX 5.x has been reported as well, and this is being looked into. A Task Tracking report was created by me on this issue.

    Probelms with Capture cards that we previously supported is something new, and I will look into this ASAP. The current NVE 3.0.1.14 is supposed to add support for new capture cards, but I do not have a list of those new cards yet, nor has our website yet been updated to reflect the new capture cards.

    And the issues with the Encoding of large Video files, along with large number of Slideshows causing lockups or error messages is also being looked into.

    I know this sounds like a lot of issues, and it is to be honest. At the same time, there are quite a number of users who have reported succes with the previous and current versions of NVE. We of course only here about the failures and problems, which is normal.

    I'm scheduled to visit Germany on December 15th, and I will be tableing these issues to see what is being done to address these issues. When I return around the first of January, I will share my findings.

    Regards,

    Craig
    Ahead Software
    USA
     
  16. marcogilb

    marcogilb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    I was using Nerovision Express 3.0.1.4 and last weekend I upgraded to 3.0.1.14.

    Most of the time it is working fine but yesterday I encountered a problem while making a movie from multiple small .avi files. NVE hangs while transcoding.

    I tried almost everyting (going back to NVE 2, going back to 3.1.1.4, etc...) but my project always freezed while transcoding.

    So in last resort, I tried to make a very small movie for every .avi file that I was using. It allowed me to find out that I had 2 avi files among all my avi file that caused the problem.

    Those 2 avi files are working fine when I play them in various player, but when NVE tries to transcode them it freezes.

    It tried to find out what was wrong with those 2 files but I could not find anything wrong. Is there somewhere that I could send those 2 small files (2 Donald Duck cartoon about 50 Megs) to see if they could find out the source of the problem ?

    Thanks
     
  17. ccampbell

    ccampbell Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi Marcogib,

    How were the files created? Do you find that other encoders have the same issue with those AVI files? I would recommend seeing if the TMPGEnc has this same issue, and if it does not, you can at least convert them to an MPEG2 format that NeroVision should then have no trouble with.

    If it does, then how the files were created or obtained is critical information we need to know.

    Regards,

    Craig
    Ahead Software
    USA
     
  18. marcogilb

    marcogilb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    Thanks for the quick response. I have no idea how the files were created I just got them on the web.

    I will try TMPGEnc to see if it works and I will let you know.

     
  19. marcogilb

    marcogilb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi Craig,

    I am not familiar with TMPGEnc and when I try to select the "bad" avi file for the "video source" I get the following message : File ... can not open, or unsupported.

    Any idea ?

    Can I send you the file so you could take a look at it ?

    Thanks
     
  20. marcogilb

    marcogilb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    Could it be that those file are "Type-1 DV format" avi files ? Does NVE support that type ? If not, do you have any suggestion ?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page