1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nerovision Express 2 Transcoding Problems

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by Hywel, Sep 1, 2004.

  1. Talksalot

    Talksalot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Craig,

    Checked my version, and mine is 3.0.1.4 (is this different from 3.0.1.(1)4?). Got this update burned to CD by Sony only a couple weeks ago. They were not of help being as they seem to think a solution is to burn images to the HD first. This is a reasonable step, but not going to resolve this. Like others, I’ve found having the right codecs a challenge, and wonder about software/hardware conflicts. One thing I know for certain is Roxio and InCD do not like each other on my system, which is a modest Dell Dimension 8200, P4, 2 Ghz. Personally I never cared much for Roxio software and had a disastrous system event after trying to upgrade to Platinum… Enter Nero.

    Some of these MPEG-2 files were downloaded, others ‘borrowed’ or found in yard sale already burned to CD, and creation of them I’m clueless about unless there is a way to check. Only thing I’ve tried were Pilates workouts so far. I’ve had nothing but trouble making backups of my own DVD’s until using DVD Shrink, and I’ve attempted a myriad of ways. These files are large to upload unless they are somehow edited and truncated, something I’ve never done. I’m totally new to video and relatively audio editing also.

    I’ll do my best to fully list issues run across, keeping in mind I’m not familiar enough with this process to know what is dysfunctional. Many times I’ve wondered if I’m failing to install necessary codecs, don’t have software settings right, or have put the cart before the horse along the way. This is why I’m desperately reading forums to learn. It was only due to Nero’s intuitive interface I managed to burn my first CD. Think of me as someone who only found time for business applications, occasional artistic pursuits, and gaming to relax… who doesn’t quit - ‘determined’ best describes it.

    Unlike most posts here, I get no error message. Instead my computer hangs and fails to progress or finish on its own. This is why it’s hard to find information on the problem. Nothing to go on. I see a preview working, status indicator moves at first, and many long hours later it’s obvious nothing is actually working. Progress made varies each time with the same end result. To date this is all I’ve tried being as I only recently purchased the DVD burner. It was a relief to see it working with other software being as its new and only under warrantee for so long. Sony seems unaware of problems after the recent Nero update, and gives support as if there are none. I’d be glad to provide samples and will email you for further instruction. Meantime, I’ll try to burn other files and see what happens.
     
  2. photog

    photog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Talksalot, you speak of "burning to HDD". I have found the most reliable and efficient way to encode is to burn to IMAGE RECORDER before burning to disk. The great thing about this is that the image (nrg) created can be mounted with Nero ImageDrive or any number of other virtual DVD players and TESTED with your software player before burning a "coaster".

    Ron
     
  3. Talksalot

    Talksalot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ron,

    This is a subject of great interest. I've read about using Image Recorder to make a burnable image, and did so twice. Problem was I couldn't figure out what to do with those files afterward. I'm still sorting out what each Nero file extension is for and does. After reading your post, I decided to mount the image with Alcohol 120% again, and by accident figured out how to open the file. First time using this type of program to create a virtual drive and making it work. (DOH) There it was, both were working much to my amazement, even one annexed with 3 Pilates videos together. There was a navigation pane too, albeit badly distorted. Could my using a large custom background image have caused this? I’ve learned a new trick and thank you for teaching it. Now I can use annexed files efficiently from my internal drive, and when not in use save them to an external drive or CD/DVD ISO archive!

    I've clicked on .nrg files before and they came up in Nero Burning Rom ready to burn to CD, but afterward had no success in doing what I wanted with them - like running through VisionExpress 3 & customizing a DVD. This was my ultimate goal. When Burning Rom opens the file, the only option is burn to CD.

    Advice of burning to HD came from Sony support, but it’s possible they didn’t realize my lack of knowledge. Perhaps my using Image Recorder was what they intended. May I inquire as to how you handle .nrg files yourself after they have been checked out, and what all they are capable of accomplishing? Is there any way they can be burned to DVD? I’m finding it helps to know end results in advance and am thinking there may be nothing wrong with several aspects of Nero, and I may try to put out fires that don’t exist. If so, my focus should remain solely on getting Vision Ex3 to function.
     
  4. xeroid

    xeroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I discovered my problem: DELETE the TRANSITIONS from the project. Burns great now. Too bad...Craig, take this to Germany with you and tell them to address this issue.
     
  5. photog

    photog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Talksalot
    I have standardised on using IMAGE RECORDER not burn to disk which creates the regular BURN to HDD. Assuming NBR is present image recorder will create an ISO (1 single file) in the NRG format. If NBR has been selected as the default program to open the image double clicking the nrg file will launch NBR. Click OK and you will make a DVD. I have burned 200+ DVD's this way.
    This is the least hassle and most reliable method. As I noted before, it has the bonus of allowing you to test the job using a virtual drive - for convenience Nero ImageDrive.
    I think it likely that is what Sony suport had in mind.
    My burner is a Pioneer DVR-A08. I have applied each firmware update as they became available. The most recent actually cut almost a minute of the burn time (the lead out time). I ma now much happier with NVE than I was last month (3.0.0.14)
    Let me know if you need more detail.
    Ron
     
  6. ccampbell

    ccampbell Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi Talksalot,

    Your current version of NVE 3.0.1.4 is not the same as the version we just posted on Dec 3rd. You should upgrade to see if this helps your issues any.

    Hi capnply,

    I will send a reminder to our WebMaster.

    Hi Xeroid,

    That was an old bug that should have been resolved already. It only occured with some transition files. You'll see if you use the same transition for all, it does not occur, only when using Random, and only if certain transitions were included. I'll reopen this bug for testing.

    Regards,

    Craig
    Ahead Software
    USA
     
  7. Talksalot

    Talksalot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ron and Craig if you haven’t left,

    If I can ever get this program to work, I’m going to use the recommended method. The way you use Nero to burn DVD’s probably works because the program recognizes your drive as a DVD burner. I’m convinced this isn’t the case majority of the time for me.

    Every avenue of burning has been tried, and only ISO worked on DVD. I’ve tried burning directly to burner & HD and the only difference has been that I can create .nrv or .nrg image to a HD then mount and check them, but not burn to DVD. No matter what settings are started with (and I always choose DVD creation), the only thing Nero will offer do is burn to CD unless they are burned as data. This is my conclusion after much testing and trying everything I can think of.

    In Vision Express 3 with .nrg file saved to HD first, the results of trying to burn to DVD are:

    1. Creating menus and transcoding streams
    2. Transcoding [name of video]

    At this point I see no preview screen and only 1 green progress bar in both bars, which could stay that way for days. The program becomes non responsive and hangs, then must be closed with task manager.

    If I get further than this, without fail I receive a message that says “Sorry, your compilation cannot be written on this kind of disc. Please modify the settings of your compilation to make it compatible with the current drive” and indicates the need to use CD-R/RW media. Problem is I can find no way modify these settings at that point, and Nero appears to ignore the fact I started out to create a DVD video compilation. I’m using Ridata 8X DVD-R media and my drive is the newest Sony dual layer burner with current firmware installed. This drive is capable of burning CD and DVD media unlike my internal LG CD-ROM combo drive which only burns CD/CDRW media, and plays DVD’s. I get the exact message when I try this with .nrv files saved to HD first. (I've also stopped IMAPI services in Windows XP on the LG drive to test conflict between drives which made no difference)

    Another confusing thing happened. I tried to mount and use the exact compilation as worked once but failed the second time around. It refused to function with a menu. I could access separate files within the project or play videos individually however. I tried to create the same compilation again, but it came out identical to the one that failed. First compilation of the two mounted and worked perfectly though.

    My observation is that these two compilations differ greatly in structure. The one I created with Nero has two folders (Audio TS & Video TS) Video TS has all the file types one would expect for a video according to what I’ve read. The other image file has 5 folders (CDI, EXT, MPEGAV, SEGMENT, VCD) with files in each that are nothing like the first, and the only functional files appear to be .DAT extensions. I’m at a loss to understand the difference as they were created in the same NERO software under the same file extension [.nrg] as each other, only with three videos and a menu.

    Difference between these two video types was one was extracted by me with Nero, the others annexed files extracted elsewhere from DVD originals with unknown software. One of three files were identified as different from the other two (MPEG-2’s) as being MPEG-1 which Nero assured it was re-encoding to match. I could save an image to HD, but could not burn to my Sony DVD burner because it kicked out the same message as above. It wanted a CD, so I put one in the drive, but it refused that also. Now what? I will try these things with other MPEG’s, but suspect the results identical.

    Last night I uninstalled all things NERO and ran every cleaning tool. Then downloaded every update and reinstalled and updated everything. This morning I ran more tests and got bad results all the same. It’s been an extremely hard experience trying something so new. That I’ve had better results with freeware is proof it isn’t my fault or inability to learn, but rather software and hardware issues beyond my comprehension or control.
    ~~~~
    ccampbell,

    Just noticed your message which posted before mine... figured this detail out later on and re-installed everything just in case, but results were actually worse after. Progress bar didn't budge where it had more so before it would hang, not that it makes much difference being as there is no positive end result either way. Starting to burn out a little, but will keep at it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2004
  8. MysticE

    MysticE Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Unless you have some need for the picture slideshow go back to version 63XXX and NVE2, works well for me. Updated to 66XXX and all hell broke loose.

    For all of you messing around with all the various forms of AVI's out there grab GSpot and see what it says about your file.

    http://www.headbands.com/gspot/

    To Craig, I would like to see Nero offer a higher bitrate on their Dolby sound, 192 sounds very weak on my Harmon-Kardon reciever.
     
  9. Talksalot

    Talksalot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    MysticE,

    Funny you should mention this... was exactly what I was thinking not long after posting the last message. Nero worked before, so maybe I should take a giant leap backward to what was installed prior. Nero 5 or 6 Ultra? (have both) Can't recall the version Ultra had now and honestly don't know if it's any different from Nero 6 - does that go far enough back or is 6.3.2.1 on Nero's web site better? Am buried in these different versions and names.

    Shame how much I'd looked forward to newer, better software and was so pleased it came with the new burner... but I still like it better than Roxio which came with my Dell system and was required to use with the original Samsung drive so it would even work. Ugh (don't miss either of them come to think of it)

    Considered buying my boyfriend a Sony stand alone DVD burner for Christmas, but am starting to reconsider being as I can't get my own to work, and I'm his tech support! Talk about blind leading blind.
     
  10. jonobrien

    jonobrien Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Problem with reverting back a version, such as to NVE2, is that Nero removed all the updates for it.
    So if you reinstall from your original CD, and unless you happened to download the latest update in between the time it was available and before it was removed, AND saved it instead of just running it AND didn't delete NVE2 updates after you downloaded NVE3, then you can't get all the bug fixes and patch updates for NVE2.
    (They left the updates for NVE1 there, go figure!!)
     
  11. jonobrien

    jonobrien Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Talksalot, you don't encode an nrg file to DVD - an nrg file already is an encoded DVD image that just writes the already properly formatted 0s and 1s straight to the DVD. You don't add it to a 'data' or 'video' track or anything - it is already in the right format.

    I find when you open an nrg file, Nero Burning ROM does not check if it is a CD or DVD nrg file. (Go figure, if it is less than 700MB it could assume it is a CD and greater than 700MB assume it is a DVD).
    But Nero doesn't, so it just defaults to CD Image. To change it to DVD, above the left pane where CD Image is selected, click on the drop-down box and select DVD. Then click BURN.

    If you can't select DVD then I guess NBR is not detecting your DVD, but then you can't use NBR to burn DVDs at all. So if that is the case, it is not a problem with nrg files, but with your installation of NBR.
     
  12. MysticE

    MysticE Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Not true you can get the latest 6.3.1.25 here (they also have the latest Nero 5 version still available):

    http://www.ahead.de/en/nero6_3.html

    For myself when I got horrible results with 66XXX (NVE3) I did a System Restore to get back to my previous version.

    And as was mentioned many times codecs seem to play a major part in getting things right. When I had problems (with some AVI's) I installed ffdshow, the latest Xvid and removed the Dvix codec. I do also have an mpeg4 codec that was intalled by InterVideo.

    I've been able to do everything I want with NVE2 2.1.2.18 (except DVD picture slideshows). Loaded AVI's, VOB's, MPEG1/2's (PAL and NTSC) in any combination. I've converted PAL to NTSC with very nice results (no menues). My only complaint is the weak audio from their 192 Dolby (the LPCM sounds much better but is a real space hog). But obviously with the almost infinite combinations of hardware, software and codecs out there some folk's mileage will vary. One size does not fit all.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2004
  13. Talksalot

    Talksalot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Jonobrien,

    Exactly what I thought .nrg files should do too, but I’ve been trying every conceivable method to make this work and resorted to mounting an image and trying to extract and burn data another way i.e. moving mandatory files into a ts video folder if necessary and going from there. Didn’t help in this instance, but I believe it might with those I rip (is that the right word or would ‘extract’ be accurate?) myself. Still bungling terminology that is new to me… and I’m more familiar working with MP3’s.

    What happens when I try to burn a .nrg image to DVD is this:

    1. I click the file and Burning ROM opens automatically and a burn compilation dialog opens with it
    2. The CD/DVD drop down selection is grayed out and below CD Image (the only option) is selected and everything else is grayed except ‘write’ which is checked and the number of copies I wish to make
    3. In the Info tab shows 4 data files appear ready to go, and their sizes are given
    4. When I click the Disc Info button it tells me to please select a recorder or CD/DVD-ROM device, and in the drop down box are my drive options (CD drive, DVD drive, and what looks like a virtual drive AXV)
    5. I choose the Sony DVD RW DRU-710A (ID:O HA:3) drive and hit the burn button
    6. A ‘Save Image File’ window opens and either allows me to choose a name or automatically calls the file Image.nrg which I allow it to do, and moments later I have a replica of the .nrg file I was trying to burn to DVD on my HD instead. The DVD is blank and I’ve gained nothing but another identical file to eat up drive space.

    Some dilemma, because to me and others it seems like I just don’t get it, when the software is actually failing to perform as intended.

    ~~~~~
    MysticE,

    You are 100% right about those files being available on Nero’s site. Downloaded them myself, but suppose it matters little which I install not knowing which might work for my particular system. Trial and error seems to be the only constant in this formula.

    Codecs are tricky, to that I can attest. Downloaded several, but am cautious not to install them all being as I found it unwise. Now I install a codec on a need to have basis. I believe one I’d installed from the NEMO pack caused issues with Windows Media Player (not my favorite player), but couldn’t prove this other than by stating it never had problems downloading necessary codecs before that. This may be the result of an entirely different issue, one I’m not interested in solving being as I’ve more pressing things to deal with like NERO, but one I keep on a back burner.

    To determine which codec is needed, I use free utilities which work beautifully, GSpot being a favorite, or AVICodec, and FFDSHOW for XviD or DivX movies. Half the battle was identifying which codecs were needed. Searching for codec information lead me to this forum first time around, which looks like an oasis in the desert to a newbie.
     
  14. sashahun

    sashahun Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Message to Craig:
    I have now installed Nero 6.6 and Nero Vision Express because I have bin searching for a program that was able to add Avi files
    to a DVD, and maybe create an menu on the DVD. I was very happy when I got the info from a friend that Nero is / were able to
    do just that with Nero Vision Express.
    So I have now seen some of all the problems that people have, on my computer.

    I added 12 Avi files into Vision Express and then the software is adding the files and I don´t know how the software looks like after
    that because the software just shutdown and end up in Application Error ( memory error ).

    My computer is an Medion 8008 2.6 Ghz with 512 MB Ram

    I have testted the Avi files with Avicodec and the video = Xvid Mpeg-4 and audio = AC3 DVM
    I have testted the Vision Express with just 1 Avi file and this is just the same...
    I have testted the Vision Express with just 1 Avi file with video = OpenDivx v4 and audio = Mpeg Layer-3 and then it´s working
    I have testted the Vision Express with Mpeg files and then it loads the files.
    What to do ?

    My opinion is that the software have a problem regarding Avi files and especially the Xvid Avi files.

    I have now uninstalled Xvid codec and rebooted, no change
    I have now uninstalled Divx codec 5.02 and rebooted, no change

    There is something I dont understand and that is that you are still able to download this software on the web site Why ?
    Now in this moment other people are having all this problems reported here on the computers at home.
    Maybe very stupit
     
  15. xeroid

    xeroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You will need to use Nero 6.3.x.x with NeroVision3 to burn AVIs to DVD if you are using Windows XP and Service Pack 2. Apparently Nero 6.6.x.x does not like WinXP SP2. I have another box with Win2000Pro installed and the 6.6.x.x w/NV3 works flawlessly burning AVIs.
     
  16. sashahun

    sashahun Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Message to xeroid

    Thanks a lot for your input.

    But I am also using windows 2000 Pro with Service pack 4 and I can not say that it´s working very well together with Nero 6.6.x.x and NVE3.

    BG
     
  17. Lawmanxxx

    Lawmanxxx Guest

    I have been through all these problems, and more, and the best solution that I have found is to create your DVD with Nero Vision Express 3, then transcode to a folder on your hard drive. Burn the resulting video_ts folder to a DVD disc using Nero Express or Burning ROM. It takes about the same amount of time to do this as it would to transcode and burn directly to disc, only one extra step. I have the latest versions of Nero Express and NVE as well as Service Pack 2 for WinXP. In fact, I now prefer this method because I can actually use my computer during the transcoding process (to HD), where as before my computer would be super sensitive to CPU load when transcoding and burning all at once and crashes were very common. I can transcode a 4gb file in about 3.5 hours, running in the background, then burn the video_ts folder to disc in about 8 minutes. For me, the error messages occured during the all-at-once method, and even if Ahead fixes this glitch, I will continue to do it this way.
    Lawmanxxx
     
  18. a.steele

    a.steele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I wish that would work for me... but my Win XP SP2 2.4GHz 256MB Compaq D330 PC running Nero 3.0.1.18 can not complete the transcoding process, regardless of if I burn to a DVD, burn to a Image, or burn to a HD folder.

    I have the same issue that many others have mentioned... some point during the transcoding the progress bar stops moving, time to completion stops dropping, and time completed keeps increasing. I have to use task manager to kill it.

    I am so frustrated!!
     
  19. photog

    photog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    a.steele
    Have you been using VBR mp3 audio files. This can lead to the error you describe?
    By the way I have found 3.0.1.14 (I think I got it right) with excellent results so ling as I sed CBR Lame encoder files.
    Ron
     
  20. a.steele

    a.steele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No, no MP3 files at all. I am just working with MPG (MPEG-2) files, created by my TV Tuner card.

    If I use lower quality, such as for a VCD - then it works fine for me. Higher quality, suh as for DVD - and Nero insits on transcoding - which fails.

    Many others are reporting the same thing... :(
     

Share This Page