1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New PC Problem-Help Guys

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by floss313, Jun 2, 2008.

1. floss313

floss313 Regular member

Hi. I just buil my first PC about 3 weeks ago.

The Hardware:

- Q9450 Intel;
    - EX38-DS4 Gigabyte;
    - OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1066Mhz;
    - Antec Nine Hundred;
    - Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB;
    - Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-215D;
    - HiperPower 880W Quad Sli Certified;
    - Radeon HD 3870 Toxic.

After installing Vista 64 I installed some of the programs I normally use and everything was running fine, so it seemed. A couple of days later I started experiencing constant freezes (randomly, sometimes 6 hours sometimes 10 hours and sometimes even less). Since I am new to the whole building PC scene i thought it night be a bad OS installation and I have reinstalled Vista 4 times since. I also get blue screens and green screens randomly however the freezing issue is more constant. Then I started testing the hardware and I ran memtest86 v3.4 and HUTIL 2.1 for the Samsung Hard Drive. Both tests Passed. Then I tried Google to search for similar problems and came across a thread indicating some standard BIOS settings to try out. Tried that but the computer automatically reset the memory to AUTO and it indicates 5-7-7-20 Timing. I seen this agter it froze once more. The most peculiar thing about this whole issue is that every time the PC freezes, when i restart the computer and go into windows i check the Hard Drive space and its reduced by 20GB or whatever random number.

What shall I do guys?

2. Deadrum33

Deadrum33 Active member