1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New PC Problem-Help Guys

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by floss313, Jun 2, 2008.

  1. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Hmm, that's interesting. I'll bear that in mind.
     
  2. floss313

    floss313 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Right guys. The whole chipset and mouse driver idea never worked. Sam I installed version 8.4 Catalyst but for some unknown reason the display responded in the same manner as I previously described. So I rolled back display driver and all is well dispay wise. Because the display is responding in such a way towards new driver installations, does that sugest the problem might be Graphics Card related? I have ran ou of ideas guys. The only thing I can think of is installing Vista 32 to see if the problem is indeed software related. Any more options?

    Many Thanks
     
  3. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Could be, try it in another PC perhaps?
     
  4. floss313

    floss313 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I had a green screen this time around. Here is the report if it means anything to you guys.

    Problem signature
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 2057

    Files that help describe the problem (some files may no longer be available)
    Mini060508-02.dmp
    sysdata.xml
    Version.txt

    View a temporary copy of these files
    Warning: If a virus or other security threat caused the problem, opening a copy of the files could harm your computer.

    Extra information about the problem
    BCCode: 3b
    BCP1: 00000000C0000005
    BCP2: FFFFF960001008BE
    BCP3: FFFFFA6004D216C0
    BCP4: 0000000000000000
    OS Version: 6_0_6001
    Service Pack: 1_0
    Product: 256_1
    Server information: f536457f-dac8-41fc-acbb-972ccbbd5cb2
     
  5. floss313

    floss313 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    After I built my first PC (this one) I built one for my sister also. That one, an AMD 6400+ on an Asus M3A-H HDMI mobo with a simple 8600 GT. And I installed the same Vista 64 I am trying to install on mine. No problems whatsoever reported.

     
  6. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yeah well, ATI's software's a bit pathetic really, it might just be taking issue with the fact that you're using 64-bit Vista. I'm intending on doing so soon with the same card and motherboard you're using, so I'll see how it goes for me.
     
  7. floss313

    floss313 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks for your help Sam. Appreciate it.
     
  8. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    No worries. Sigh, Vista's expensive!
     
  9. Deadrum33

    Deadrum33 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Too bad there isnt a way you could "find" (cough, cough) an XP Pro version somewhere. I wonder where you could "find" one? Maybe just to test things out until Fista is stable say like SP33 LOL
     
  10. floss313

    floss313 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah it's a shame I can't (cough, cough).

    Thanks for all your help.

    Maybe someday I can be of some use.

    Cheers
     
  11. floss313

    floss313 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Guys I am really sorry to put you through this but please have a look at this :

    ***** Start of Report *****
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    <<< Computer Overview >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Tip 2546: Large memory modules should be ECC/Parity.

    <<< Mainboard >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Notice 224: SMBIOS/DMI information may be inaccurate.
    Tip 2511: Some memory slots are free so the memory can
    be easily upgraded.
    Tip 2546: Large memory modules should be ECC/Parity.
    Warning 2523: Memory bus speed exceeds memory rated speed.
    Reduce memory bus speed.

    <<< Plug & Play >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Mainboard Configuration >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Notice 224: System BIOS : SMBIOS/DMI information may be
    inaccurate.
    Tip 212: System BIOS : BIOS can be shadowed so check
    whether it is.
    Warning 214: System BIOS : BIOS is flash-able but surface-
    mounted. An unsuccessful flash may be fatal.

    <<< Processors >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Tip 210: CPU 1 [Processor 0, Core 0, Thread 0] :
    Mainboard supports faster CPUs, so the CPU
    can be upgraded when needed.
    Notice 224: CPU 1 [Processor 0, Core 0, Thread 0] :
    SMBIOS/DMI information may be inaccurate.
    Warning 236: CPU 1 [Processor 0, Core 0, Thread 0] : Vcore
    higher than rated maximum. Check Vcore
    setting!
    Tip 210: CPU 2 [Processor 0, Core 1, Thread 0] :
    Mainboard supports faster CPUs, so the CPU
    can be upgraded when needed.
    Notice 224: CPU 2 [Processor 0, Core 1, Thread 0] :
    SMBIOS/DMI information may be inaccurate.
    Warning 236: CPU 2 [Processor 0, Core 1, Thread 0] : Vcore
    higher than rated maximum. Check Vcore
    setting!
    Tip 210: CPU 3 [Processor 0, Core 2, Thread 0] :
    Mainboard supports faster CPUs, so the CPU
    can be upgraded when needed.
    Notice 224: CPU 3 [Processor 0, Core 2, Thread 0] :
    SMBIOS/DMI information may be inaccurate.
    Warning 236: CPU 3 [Processor 0, Core 2, Thread 0] : Vcore
    higher than rated maximum. Check Vcore
    setting!
    Tip 210: CPU 4 [Processor 0, Core 3, Thread 0] :
    Mainboard supports faster CPUs, so the CPU
    can be upgraded when needed.
    Notice 224: CPU 4 [Processor 0, Core 3, Thread 0] :
    SMBIOS/DMI information may be inaccurate.
    Warning 236: CPU 4 [Processor 0, Core 3, Thread 0] : Vcore
    higher than rated maximum. Check Vcore
    setting!

    <<< Buses and Devices >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Warning 1209: PCIe : PC Partner Radeon HD 3870 : Video card
    does not have an interrupt assigned.
    Error: PCIe : No devices found. : No devices found.
    Error: PCIe : No devices found. : No devices found.

    <<< Power Management >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Notice 224: SMBIOS/DMI information may be inaccurate.

    <<< System Resources >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Displays and Display Adapters >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Tip 314: Video Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 3870 (512MB,
    PCIe 2.00 x16, SM 4.0) : Video BIOS is too
    old. Check for an update.
    Tip 2221: Video Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 3870 (512MB,
    PCIe 2.00 x16, SM 4.0) : Driver is not
    certified.
    Tip 319: Video Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 3870 (512MB,
    PCIe 2.00 x16, SM 4.0) : A refresh rate of at
    least 75Hz is recommended. Increase it if
    possible.
    Tip 314: Video Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 3870 (PCIe 2.00
    x16) : Video BIOS is too old. Check for an
    update.

    <<< Physical Disks >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< SCSI Devices >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Warning 2600: SAMSUNG HD103UJ [P2 T0 H0 L0] (C:) : SCSI
    version does not adhere to ANSI. Probably ATA/
    ATAPI device.
    Warning 2600: PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-215D [P3 T0 H1 L0] (D:) :
    SCSI version does not adhere to ANSI.
    Probably ATA/ATAPI device.
    Notice 5901: PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-215D [P3 T0 H1 L0] (D:) :
    CD 1x= 150kB/s; Exercise caution when
    comparing measured versus published CD
    ratings.
    Notice 5902: PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-215D [P3 T0 H1 L0] (D:) :
    DVD 1x= 11.08Mbps; Exercise caution when
    comparing measured versus published DVD
    ratings.

    <<< Printers and Faxes >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Ports >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Audio Devices >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Warning 710: MIDI Output Devices (Playback) : Microsoft GS
    Wavetable Synth : Driver may be obsolete.
    Check that it is the latest version.

    <<< Mice and Track-balls >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Keyboards and Tablets >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Network Adapters >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Error: Wireless Support : No controllers present!

    <<< Network (LAN) >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Error: Terminal Servers Network : No domains found :
    No hosts detected!
    Error: Universal Plug and Play Network : No domains
    found : No hosts detected!

    <<< Operating System >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Tip 1300: Enter your company name or "Home" instead of
    "Unknown".
    Tip 1324: .NET Framework 1.1 not installed. Install to
    run legacy .NET applications.

    <<< Virtual Machines and Runtime Engines >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Key Applications >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Error: Instant Messaging : Empty : No packages found
    Error: Java Runtime Engine : Empty : No packages
    found
    Error: Internet Call : Empty : No packages found

    <<< Start Menu Applications >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Memory Usage >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Processes >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Tip 1601: [System Process] : Program consumes a large
    amount of memory.
    Tip 1601: explorer.exe (Windows Explorer) : Program
    consumes a large amount of memory.
    Tip 1601: MOM.exe (Catalyst Control Center: Monitoring
    program) : Program consumes a large amount of
    memory.
    Tip 1601: CCC.exe (Catalyst Control Centre: Host
    application) : Program consumes a large
    amount of memory.
    Tip 1601: OUTLOOK.EXE (Microsoft Office Outlook) :
    Program consumes a large amount of memory.
    Tip 1601: RpcSandraSrv.exe (SiSoftware Sandra Agent
    Service (NT)(Unicode)) : Program consumes a
    large amount of memory.
    Warning: WmiPrvSE.exe (WMI Provider Host) : Process no
    longer exists!

    <<< Modules >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Sessions >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Services and Drivers >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Tip 2130: Background Intelligent Transfer Service :
    Service may be disabled on Home/Professional
    OS version.
    Tip 2130: Computer Browser : Service may be disabled on
    Home/Professional OS version.
    Tip 2130: Offline Files : Service may be disabled on
    Home/Professional OS version.
    Tip 2130: Windows Media Center Service Launcher :
    Service may be disabled on Home/Professional
    OS version.
    Tip 2130: COM+ Event System : Service may be disabled
    on Home/Professional OS version.
    Tip 2130: TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper : Service may be
    disabled on Home/Professional OS version.
    Tip 2130: IPsec Policy Agent : Service may be disabled
    on Home/Professional OS version.
    Tip 2130: Secondary Logon : Service may be disabled on
    Home/Professional OS version.
    Tip 2130: Windows Image Acquisition (WIA) : Service may
    be disabled on Home/Professional OS version.
    Tip 2130: Terminal Services : Service may be disabled
    on Home/Professional OS version.
    Tip 2130: UPnP Device Host : Service may be disabled on
    Home/Professional OS version.

    <<< Installed Applications >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Installed Processes >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Components & Objects >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Users and Groups >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Cryptography and Certificates >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Error: User : Personal (My) : No certificates found
    in the store.
    Error: User : Enterprise Trust (Trust) : No
    certificates found in the store.
    Error: User : Active Directory User Object (UserDS) :
    No certificates found in the store.
    Error: User : Trusted People (TrustedPeople) : No
    certificates found in the store.
    Error: User : Smart Card Trusted Roots
    (SmartCardRoot) : No certificates found in
    the store.
    Error: Local Computer : Personal (My) : No
    certificates found in the store.
    Error: Local Computer : Enterprise Trust (Trust) :
    No certificates found in the store.
    Error: Local Computer : Trusted People
    (TrustedPeople) : No certificates found in
    the store.
    Error: Local Computer : Smart Card Trusted Roots
    (SmartCardRoot) : No certificates found in
    the store.

    <<< Fonts >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Media Devices >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    MPEGVideo: Unknown problem while loading the specified
    device driver.

    <<< DirectX >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Tip 2221: Direct3D Devices : ATI Radeon HD
    3870 (\\.\DISPLAY1) : Driver is not
    certified.

    <<< OpenGL >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Logical Drives >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Tip 1821: Hard Disk (C:) @ SAMSUNG HD103UJ 1000GB
    (SATA300, NCQ, 32MB Cache) : Label (name)
    drive.
    Warning: CD-ROM/DVD (D:) @ PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-215D
    (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 64kB Cache) :
    Cannot obtain drive information; check that a
    disk is in the drive and it is correctly
    formatted.

    <<< Data Sources >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Error: dBASE Files (User) [Microsoft Access dBASE
    Driver (*.dbf, *.ndx, *.mdx)] : Could not
    connect to the database. : Could not connect
    to the database.
    Error: Excel Files (User) [Microsoft Excel Driver
    (*.xls, *.xlsx, *.xlsm, *.xlsb)] : Could not
    connect to the database. : Could not connect
    to the database.
    Error: MS Access Database (User) [Microsoft Access
    Driver (*.mdb, *.accdb)] : Could not connect
    to the database. : Could not connect to the
    database.

    <<< File Types >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< Web Components >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Error: ActiveX Packages : No packages found : No
    controllers present!
    Error: Java Class Packages : No packages found : No
    controllers present!

    <<< Environment Variables >>>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ***** End of Report *****


    ?

    Cheers
     
  12. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Hmm, I don't see anything nasty there, except for 'driver is not certified' for your GPU...
     
  13. Deadrum33

    Deadrum33 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Like I said before, I'm not a Fista expert but something in that log (reads like a Sandrasoft log am I right?) stuck out.
    I cant remember where I've read this but since Fista needs admin rights and all that UAC stuff and special permissions to run most programs, you really need to have your naming specified. Check out #1 fun fact at this website http://www.arsgeek.com/?p=1172 and let me know if it helps at all.
     
  14. floss313

    floss313 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks guys. Let me run these through.
     
  15. floss313

    floss313 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well guys it has now been about 20hrs since my last restart. That has to be a record. I don't know if this is what we were lookin' for but i is a start that's for sure. Thank GOD! I hope it lasts permanently, of course. I will let you know. All I did this time around was change the memory timings from 5-5-5-15 to 5-5-5-18 keeping Deardrum's earlier BIOS settings as well.

    Cheers
     
  16. floss313

    floss313 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    One more thing guys. I noticed the hard computer was working hard even thuogh I wasn't doing much with it so I ran Task Manager to check it out and came across the resource monitor which was telling me that the command perfmon.exe had a high rating under hard faults/min so I found this on the net:



    Could it be?
     
  17. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
  18. Deadrum33

    Deadrum33 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    It must be the name change right? LOL, I doubt that specifically fixed things but it should help down the road with permissions and especially if you decide to network your computer.
    About your RAM changes, have you ran Memtest at new settings? Any reason you want it at 555-18 and not -15?
     
  19. floss313

    floss313 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    To be truthful Deardrum I am very new in the computer hardware scene. I am a Mega Downloader though. And when I say Mega I mean MEGA! I have developed a lot of interest in computing since and I am a pretty fast learner. I hope I get through this endeavour and appreciate all I have learned while trying to ascertain the cause. You guys play a big part in the whole learning scene of course. As far as the timings are concerned I simply read them of the memory specs in the OCZ website. I don't even know what they mean or what they do YET. The 20h thing went to 22hrs and then packed up on me once again. What I have noticed is the computer working excessively without any reason whatsoever. The CPU usage doesn't go high, probably because it can do a lot of work but that prompted me to check Task manager like I mentioned earlier. When I opened the Resource Monitor I see a lot going on without any reason, especially under Hard Disk and Memory. Under Memory the Hardfaults/sec seems to be high every now and then. Maybe I will go that way now.

    One thing. On one of my previous posts I mentioned that when I checked the Event Viewer it still had week old logs even though I just had freshly reinstalled Vista. Do you know anything about this?

    Cheers

    Note- I haven't ran Memtest on the new settings yet, but I will.
     
  20. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Would you be able to run Memtest86 on your system and check your RAM?

    edit: lol just read the last line of your post.
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2008

Share This Page