1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to modding: quite confused.

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware boot discussion' started by Mechanios, Dec 22, 2008.

1. Mechanios

Mechanios Guest

I'm pretty new to modding consoles/computer devices. So I recently looked up how to mod my old xbox because; well, it's old and I wanna do other things with it other than play xbox games. I softmodded my box with this guide: Here

Now I'm confused as to how I would install XBMC onto my xbox. I've created an xbox controller hook up to usb to computer connectors. (Very end of the xbox controller that plugs into the xbox with a male usb end on it. Then plug a double ended usb cable (male and female ends) into that and then into the computer.) In hopes of using an ftp program to transfer XBMC over, but I'm pretty wary about this. Is there an easier way? Would I have to hook the console back up to the computer and install xbmc from a usb stick drive into the computer and then through to the xbox or is what I'm doing with the controller usb cable the right thing? Anything else I should know or anything that could go wrong (besides the risks of switching cables from computers to hardrives :p)

I've read a bunch of other tutorials and such, but they all pretty much make use of Mech Assault or Splinter Cell, a flash drive, action replay and etc. I've read a bunch of forum topics on here too and with all the terms, I'm still confused. Helps appreciated. :D

2. dennisv9

dennisv9 Regular member