1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to this DVD burning thingy...

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by n2myharly, Feb 24, 2005.

1. n2myharly

n2myharly Guest

I am brand new to this dvd burning thingy.. I am currently using 1click dvd burning software along with dvd43free encryption software and have no problem burning copies with 1 drive on my laptop.. Basically it reads, decrypts and compresses the dvd to a temp file then prompt me to place writeable data.. the entire process takes about 1 hr to burn a dvd.. I just bought a usb (mad dog) burner to match up with my laptop.. it come with nero software.. I have been told that i can burn from 1 drive to the other.. im guessing that i need dvd+-RW media to do this because there is no compression of files when you copy from drive to drive?? pls give me somr feedback.. I am anxious to learn. thanks Bryant..

2. scf_au

scf_au Regular member

Dear n2myharly,
    With Nero, you can indeed burn from drive to drive, among other choices (e.g. burn to Harddisk, burn to same drive, burn to image recorder). People who like to play it safe would burn to hd first, check, then burn to disc. In any case, as Nero would ask for a place on the harddisk to store the temporary files during the process, you really don't have to worry about the compression thing. However, you are right to use RW to test out the new thing first, no coasters.
    Happy DVD burning!

3. n2myharly

n2myharly Guest