1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NEWBIE HERE.. LOTS OF QUESTIONS

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Zube, Apr 7, 2005.

1. Zube

Zube Member

I finally got a DVD burner and am very familiar with VCD's and SVCD's. I know how to convert all different formats mpeg, avi, etc. to VCD or SVCD. I'm using TMPGEnc DVD AUthor and TMPGEnc DVD Source Editor to convert mpegs to DVD. I don't know if this is the best software to use but its the only thing I have right now.

I've successfully taken a 750MB Mpeg file and converted it into an ISO using DVD Source editor but after its gone through its conversion, the file is over 2Gigs.. IS this normal and is there any way around this? Basically I'd like to be able to take 2 Mpeg files under 1.5 Gigs and be able to convert to DVD ready format and burn onto a normal DVD. If someone can give me all the info or point me in the right direction I'd appreciate it.

DVD Source Editor has the option to take down teh size of the file but how much of an affect on quality will that have? Maybe I'm using the wrong software or just not setting the options correctly. Anyways. thanks in advance for help.

2. DarkThief

DarkThief Member

Yea Same. I've got that problem too. I used DivxToDvd on a 60mg avi file to convert it to the appropiate files. After the conversion is complete, it turned out that the file was 8x the original avi file (that's around 480mg). So i don't no what problem is causing it. Maybe it's because the dvd requires some files in order to convert.

3. Zube

Zube Member

Yea. I'm totally new to the whole DVD burning. I've always burned VCD's and SVCD's w/o a problem taking two movie clips and burning on 2 CD's. I'm getting kinda tired of that and am hoping that I can fit them on one DVD-R. There definitely has to be a way to keep Mpeg files under or near 1.5 and keep them under the 4.2Gb or whatever it is that DVD's can hold.

4. wally31

wally31 Guest