1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie in need of dire help

Discussion in 'DVD recorders' started by gonzo787, Oct 9, 2004.

1. gonzo787

gonzo787 Member

I'm very new to DVD recorders. I keep getting conflicting answers from sales people and would once and for all like to get some straight answers.

For example, at Radio Shack somebody just told me that I must have a hard drive (or a Tivo type unit) with my DVD recorder in order to record programs from the television on to a DVD. He claimed that DVD recorders werent fast enough to keep up with recording live yet. This contradicts everything I have read about them but he seemed pretty convinced.

Also, I have not been able to get an answer (including two posts here) on whether recording one channel while watching another is possible if you get your cable through a digital cable box.

I really would like a DVD recorder but don't want to spend $400 on one and realize it can't do anything I want it to do.

I want a DVD recorder that is able to convert all my VHS to DVD (this I know all of them can do) and also be able to record television programs off the TV, preferably with the option of being able to watch a totally different channel.

So I guess my questions are:
    1) Do I need a hard drive to record TV programs to DVD?
    2) If not, what are the benefits of a hard drive besides being able to store the program before you put to a DVD (if that is what is desired)?
    3) How (or is) is possible to record one program while watching another if I get my channels from a cable box?
    4) Also can anybody reccommend any good DVD recorders based on what I posted about?

I would greatly appreciate any help I can get, as I am very frustrated!

Last edited: Oct 9, 2004
  2. gonzo787

gonzo787 Member

I'm drowning here.

3. catfreak

catfreak Active member