1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie: Mod-chip vs. exploit

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware mods' started by jtrage, Aug 2, 2004.

1. jtrage

jtrage Member

I am new at this, just trying to get the basics. What are the main differences between the two. I have found a pre-modded xbox for $350. This is the link http://www.ioffer.com/i/Modded-Xbox-160-GIG-HD-50-games-5000-classics-3265651 (I hope posting the link is ok, if not I will re-phrase my ?) Is this a good deal? It is not a mod-chip, what are the advantages and/or disadvantages? What I am interested in is xbox live, using the system as a media player for mp3's through my reciever, games and a dvd player.

I know I am asking for a lot of input, so any input would be greatly appreciated.

thanks,
    jtrage

2. Scotsmen

Scotsmen Guest

Hi

this is only "MY" opinion but i feel that the path of softmod is own littered with pitfalls to the noob. and in my opinion you would be better to either get a premodded xbox or buy a mochip AFTER READING ALL tuts you can.
    With a sdoftmod if the tsop has been flashed you might not be able to go live.

regards

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 7, 2004
  3. jtrage

jtrage Member

Thanks for your reply. After more research I came to the same conclusion. I have read through most tuts and I do not feel comfortable modding on my own, at least for my first modded xbox. I have found another site that offers a premodded brand new system with a 250gb HD, 3 emus, and a xecuter lite for $450 or a xenium ice for $15 more. They also preload severol apps such as evox dashboard and the media player. http://www.ioffer.com/i/Ultimate-Xbox-System-250gig-HD-Xecuter-Lite-2.3b-3237486

I have contacted them with questions and they seem to have good support. i am still leary about dropping $500 to someone I don't know. I am still researching and I would appreciate any input.

thanks, jtrage

4. matty8887