1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No Audio After Encoding from .avi PLEASE HELP !!!

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by Soulja, Feb 14, 2003.

1. Soulja

Soulja Guest

i converted "How High", And "Undisputed" from .avi to .Mpg, and when i play the avi, i hear sound but with the mpg version i just see video no audio. why is this happening. this is my first time experiencing a problem like this too. Please help!

2. Dela

Dela Administrator Staff Member

What did you use to encode it?? I reckon TMPGEnc, am I right??

3. Soulja

Soulja Guest

yep.

and to make it simple:
    ORinginal Avi file: Audio And Video
    Encoded From Avi To Mpg: Video But No Audio

4. Dela

Open the .avi in virtualdub http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/video_tools/virtualdub.cfm

click video - direct stream copy and click audio - full processing mode. click audio again and click compression. select no compression pcm and click ok, now click file - save as avi. the avi saved will be much bigger than the original but tmpgenc would have more support for the uncompressed audio!

5. herfy's

herfy's Member

dela,i seem to be having the same problem here and i was just about to post a thread for some help.i have solaris on my pc and it works great through media playerbut as soon as i encode it through tmpgenc i loose the audio and have a great picture,it is a dvd screener.i just followed your instructions for virtual dub but it comes up with an error.the process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process.i dont understand what that means.i have done a search on my pc and i cant find it anywhere else.can you help me on this one.
    thanks if you can or anyone else for that matter.

6. Dela

Is the file in a shared folder for a p2p app or do you have it loaded into tmpgenc at the same time?

7. herfy's

herfy's Member