1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Noob needs help for problem with Modded xbox

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware boot discussion' started by LgdLush, Apr 5, 2007.

1. LgdLush

LgdLush Guest

Im a noob and need help with my modded xbox as I have an error loading page (I believe it's message 05), poppin up onscreen. I'm having trouble as I've searched and googled and it has led me here so as a noob I want to just get the info from whoever can help and hopefully solve this problem. Any help is appreciated and I will help in return with any knowledge I can provide as well. I have dloaded Evox's 2.7 but maybe burned it 2 disc wrong as it's not loading and rebooting the xbox. Should it be connect to my pc ? Again, I'm a noob so mebbe I have the right idea but not following the correct processes to succeed. Any help again will be much appreciated. Thx !

2. steimy

steimy Active member

- kernel - HDD not locked (The retail xbox bioses require the hd to be locked)

When you upgrade your hard disk drive for one that is larger, you most of the times use a new hard drive that you bought in the shop. Now, when you put this hdd in your xbox and you try to boot up with your chip off. It gives you error 5. Why you ask? Well i will try to explain it simple.

The original (also called "Retail") hard drive is locked by MS. Why did they lock the harddrive?

Well if it wasn't it wouldve been more than easy (in the start of xbox hacking)
    for hackers to change content on it. Thats why MS locks it. It is just a security measure.

This locking proces uses information thats on the motherboard. The "Lock" on a xbox hard drive contains information that is based on the harddrive itself and the motherboard it came with.