1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Norton or McAfee?

Discussion in 'Windows - Software discussion' started by gibbo82, Nov 20, 2006.

  1. gibbo82

    gibbo82 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I did a quick search, but I didn't see a thread that directly compares the two. So which one is better? I know that's a broad question. But I have Norton, and I was wondering if McAfee is just as thorough a protection as Norton is? The only reason I ask is that I keep getting a 'ccApp' error which I believe is rooted in Norton. Plus I have heard that Norton is resource hog. So, just quickly, which would you recommend? Thanks.

    Also, I am sorry if there is another thread about this, but again I didn't see one after doing a search.
     
  2. The_Fiend

    The_Fiend Guest

    If you want a simple answer, i'd say Mcafee is less of a resource hog.
    But it's still not the lightest around, that would be AVG.
     
  3. gibbo82

    gibbo82 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the info. Is AVG reliable and do they update their definitions often? I only ask becasue I have never heard of them. I would love to get someone reliable and light on my resources.
     
  4. The_Fiend

    The_Fiend Guest

    AVG is the most reliable free product around, i usually recommend it to my customers if they have older systems or a cash shortage.
    The payed version of AVG is also good.
     
  5. gibbo82

    gibbo82 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks a lot. It looks like I will be getting rid of Norton and its errors. Thanks for the advice.
     
  6. The_Fiend

    The_Fiend Guest

  7. bkf

    bkf Guest

  8. gibbo82

    gibbo82 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah, I completely removed Nortons. I have AVG and will see how that works out. Again, thanks for all the replys and help.
     
  9. gibbo82

    gibbo82 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Wow, I meant "replies." Great spelling.
     
  10. iPirate

    iPirate Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Norton was the best anti virus around, now it is bloat-ware and if you ask anyone around here what they use. it is anything beside norton
     
  11. ashwin18

    ashwin18 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I am an exception to that. I use Norton, as it makes me a little less paranoid about viruses and their likes. As for bloating, all the running norton programs (ccApp, ccSetMgr etc...), consume a total of 30 MB, which I can allow easily, as I have 496MB of RAM (512MB Chip, 496 available to windows)
     
  12. iPirate

    iPirate Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yes but you must not know how norton sucks. WHen you buy a pc, norton comes, ok fine. use it for the 30 day free trial. 30 days are over and it wants you to renew the license. Well No I do not want to. So you uninstall it. But after 2 days of removing it, it still seems to be on there. YOU CAN NOT UNINSTALL IT EASILY. Norton might as well be a trojan.
     
  13. ashwin18

    ashwin18 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If that was a joke, it was a really bad one, and if it was not, then it's the craziest thing i've heard in a very long time...

    I have uninstalled internet security, antivirus and the retial version of systemworks countless number of times.

    As for the problems, for some dumb reason, symantec used to like the traditional HTML engine for their interface, hence sometimes I used to get script errors. But now, they have ditched it, finally!
     
  14. Dunker

    Dunker Regular member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    No, that poster was right - Norton might as well be a trojan. I'm not fond of software that requires network-based authentication to even run, as Norton's requires, and who only knows what it uploads when it phones home. Yes, believe it or not, some of us DO run machines without an internet connection, for security reasons, because hooking up a machine to a global network a.k.a. the internet, that doesn't have an absolute NEED to be on the internet, is utterly foolish in this day and age.

    But it does indicate just how seriously Symantec takes security - they don't.

    Yes, and it is a bear to uninstall. That poster was right in more ways than one.

    ANYWAY, I will agree with the "anything but Norton's" rule, although McAfee isn't so great either. I'll recommend NOD32, AVG, Sophos, and Avira Antivir. With any of these, I'll recommend at least one separate anti-spyware program, but NONE of the anti-virus products which include anti-spyware - I'm directing this at Norton's or McAfee's - do a decent job of anti-spyware detection anyway.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2006

Share This Page