1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NVIDIA GeForce 6150 SE?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by dk92, Aug 18, 2007.

  1. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    7600 GT
     
  2. evilh0ly

    evilh0ly Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    one more thing, since you're upgrading your graphic card, I also think you should upgrade your PSU to accomendate your new graphic card.

    for the time being i think you should get the ATI X1900GT

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102705

    it handles all the latest games at decent frame rate without hiccups and possibly upgrade to the GEF-9xxx when time comes.

    Also this thing slaughtered the 7600 in every benchmark around the same price tag.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2007
  3. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Actually scratch that, evil is right. The ATI will give you better performance and it is still in your price range.
     
  4. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    since the 7600GT, 7800GT, 7900GT, 7900GTX and 7950GT are all discontinued for PCI express, you'll start to have trouble finding a good nvidia card unless you get the 8 series, which I think carries more cost than is warranted by their performance unless you get an 8800. The X1900GT is a super card (80% of the power of mine) and now I see it's nice and cheap.
     
  5. dk92

    dk92 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  6. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    You have a PCI-E 16x slot so the card Sam recommended will work.
     
  7. evilh0ly

    evilh0ly Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have the same PC(i got it for $180). I putted a 80mm fan in the back, also upgraded the PSU, graphic card, and the ram.

    You definitely need to upgrade the PSU, it comes with a 250watt or 350w PSU, which barely making it.

    since you're on a limited budget maybe this PSU helps
    http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=370565
     
  8. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Indeed, you'll definitely need a more powerful PSU to run a high end graphics card.
     
  9. mitch39

    mitch39 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I think people are exaggerating rather too much on how much the GeForce 6150SE sucks. Because really, it doesn't. I also just got a new pc with this graphics card and I've been playing games such as; Half-Life 2, F.E.A.R, Doom 3, etc., and yes, maxed out, not minimal settings. Though I won't say it's the best graphics card, it's definitely not crap either. There is slight lag in some parts of top end games, but other than that I can't complain. If you have problems with it, get the newest drivers and that should fix most issues.

    Though a year, down the line I would highly suggest getting a newer graphics card, only due to it being outdated by then.
     
  10. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I doubt you are playing FEAR maxed out with that. What resolution are you running it at?
     
  11. batman30

    batman30 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have played alot of games with my 6150 and ive been playing unreal tournament 3 the last few days. sure I know that a 8800(which im getting real soon) would be much better...but the 6150 is not as bad as most would make it out to be...my monitor is a samsung widescreen @1440x900.
     
  12. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Which is better the 7350 LE or the 6150 SE?
     
  13. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Honestly neither. Video cards are so cheap now that you owe it to your self to get at east a 7600GT.
     
  14. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Total bull, a 6150SE can't play FEAR at anything above 640x480 on high settings. You might be able to manage 1024x768 if you put the detail down low, but never 1440x900, not unless you can play FPS games at 5 frames per second.
    OmriSama: The 6150SE is pointlessly awful. The 7350LE isn't so bad, but if you're a gamer you want something at least as poweful as a 7600GT.

    I'll quote notebookreview forums (and yes, the mobile 6150se is the same as the desktop 6150se)



    F.E.A.R.

    If you can't tell by now, I've been pretty keen to try and push the Go 6150 as hard as I can. I've heard reports of F.E.A.R. running on peoples' Radeon Xpress IGPs, so I figured...why not? And I gave F.E.A.R. a go. Like Doom 3, I was impressed.

    Again, as I mentioned before, the Go 6150 hates lighting and shadow effects, so Volumetric Lighting and Shadows were disabled. These were the settings I ran F.E.A.R. at:

    * 640x480
    * COMPUTER OPTIONS:
    o Single Player Physics Medium
    o Multiplayer Physics Medium
    o Max Software Sounds Medium
    o Particle Bouncing Medium
    o Shell Casings Off
    o World Detail Minimum
    o Corpse Detail Minimum
    * VIDEO CARD OPTIONS: EFFECTS
    o Effects Detail Medium
    o Model Decals Medium
    o Water Resolution Medium
    o Reflections & Displays Medium
    o Volumetric Lights Off
    * GRAPHICS
    o FSAA Off
    o Light Detail Minimum
    o Shadows Off
    o Texture Filtering Trilinear
    o Texture Resolution Medium
    o Videos Medium
    o Pixel Doubling Off
    o DX8 Shaders Off
    o Shaders Maximum

    With these settings, I benchmarked:

    * Minimum FPS: 18
    * Average FPS: 28
    * Maximum FPS: 57
    * 31% of gameplay below 25 FPS
    * 66% of gameplay between 25 and 40 FPS
    * 3% of gameplay above 40 FPS

     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2007
  15. batman30

    batman30 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ummm, i dunno what else to say? Im running a dualcore amd with a 6150 and I do play those games. No need for me to lie...
     
  16. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yeah but at what resolution? Can you post a screenshot of your settings?
     
  17. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Sure, you can play FEAR, but at high detail it'd have to be at some pants resolution like 512x384.
     
  18. mitch39

    mitch39 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Same here. AMD Athlon 6000+. I don't see why I'd need to lie about what games I can play or not :/.

    And I'm running at 1024 x 768. Yes, not the highest screen res. But any higher and the screen gets too stretched out because I have a widescreen monitor and I haven't seen any widescreen screen res. in FEAR, unlike HL2, which I run at 1680x1050 and maxed out settings.

    Don't you people believe I'd find something better to lie about than about how my comp. runs games, because I couldn't give a crap if I had to run it at low or high settings, as long as my games run is good enough for me.
     
  19. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    FEAR can support widescreen resolutions, right off the bat if you have the expansions. If you don't, then you can change the config file to use one. Unfortunately at that low a pixel count there aren't really any well used widescreen resolutions, the lowest I can think of is 1280x800 which may run a bit slow on a 6150.
     
  20. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The only reason we doubt you is because everyone else says the opposite. My old 7600 GT didn't run fear on high, and it's miles ahead of the 6150.
     

Share This Page