1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NVIDIA GeForce 6150 SE?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by dk92, Aug 18, 2007.

  1. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The onboard graphics will be terrible, and you'll have to change the PSU to add your own card. Also, don't buy refurbished PCs. It's simply not worth it...
     
  2. cee43ja1

    cee43ja1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    you'd have to get a graphics card and beefier psu, no doubt about it. i have the GT5458E, and it's practically the same specs as that one.

    any pci-e x16 card will work. and a 450w+ psu will give stable power to everything; the stock 300w won't be able to handle a graphics card and power everything.
     
  3. lordking

    lordking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I see thanks for the replies. I guess I will continue to look around , most likely I will have to start with a refurbished computer and save my money to get a better one.
     
  4. jakedsnak

    jakedsnak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm going to get a new HP AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual Core 5200+. http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/proddet...ogon=&langid=EN
    I've read alot of your forum and think that I should get the Sapphire ATI Radeon3870 or 3850. I know that I must also get a PSU(Somewhere in the $60-$90 range). I'm just hoping it will play my Medieval 2: total war good. I'm going to find out if the GSU and PSU will fit and run with this computer. If you see anything I'm missing tell me so i don't get screwed by this computer.

    P.S. Can't wait for SC2.
     
  5. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2007
  6. Amir89

    Amir89 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    LOL

    The 6150SE isn't qualified to run at a public library, let alone play games.

    Seriously think about upgrading.
     
  7. batman30

    batman30 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    @Amir89 thank you for your intelligent input...your attitude lets me and 95% of anyone who has a brain disregard everything you just said
     
  8. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Oooh burn, even though he had it coming since the person already stated he was going to upgrade lol.
     
  9. jakedsnak

    jakedsnak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yah lol I did say that. Maybe twice lmfao. I'm gonna get the sapphire radeon HD3870 or 3850 from a-power.com.

    For power supply(which i hope to god will fit in).

    Also, I can't custimize my own computer because my dad doesn't want me to waste my money on "gaming" so i have to disguise one and this hp is the one because it has 3gb memory and 320 hard drive(not too bad for newb) o and the processor speed is 3.0GHz.
     
  10. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    If you haven't bought it yet then don't. Honestly tell your dad is cheaper he'll buy that. Dads ALWAYS buy that. If you want I'll send you some pics of my computer. Tell him you know people who do this on a regular basis and know what the hell they're doing :p
     
  11. jakedsnak

    jakedsnak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yah please. nothing too fancy. i can only spend like 1200 in total. But i don't know FS has a awesome deal. HP Pavilion AMD Athlon 64x2 dual core 6000+, 3gigs ram, 500 sata2 7200rpm, with quite a low-med graphics card hd2400pro. Also it comes with keyboard and mouse. In total $1087 after tax in Canada. If you know a better deal for that price( don;t forget i have to buy monitor) post it please.
     
  12. jakedsnak

    jakedsnak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oops my bad that computer is 1087$ with monitor (22" Samsung) and 6 piece speakers too. If your wondering why it's not a package it's because I'm gonna use another package and just change the pc from media edition to regular(with better graphics card) and if they say no to that I will just say "ok then I'm leaving, goodbye".
     
  13. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    If you're not willing to build it yourself then I suppose it's a pretty good deal. I have a problem with buying an AMD when the Intels are so good these days but it's good enough.
     
  14. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,165
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    128
    jakedsnak, where in canada are you?
     
  15. jakedsnak

    jakedsnak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I live in B.C.
     
  16. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,165
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    128
    computer $639.00
    http://www.pcvonline.com/systemsCont.aspx?cat=Desktop System
    AMD Althlon64 x2 AM2 6000+ CPU
    ASUS M2A-MVP MB
    2GB DDR2 800 RAM
    ATI HD2600PRO 512MB PCI-E
    500G SATA HDD
    DVD RW
    InWin EA007 TOWER/PS
    LOGITECH DELUXE KB/OPTICAL MOUSE
    600W SUBWOOFER


    video card $198.95
    http://www.pcvonline.com/productDetails.aspx?id=6550
    Graphics Engine ATI Radeon HD 3850
    Bus Standard PCI Express 2.0
    Video Memory DDR3 256MB
    Engine Clock 668 MHz
    Memory Clock 1.65 GHz ( 828 MHz DDR3 )
    Memory Interface 256-bit
    DVI Max Resolution 2560 x 1600
    D-Sub Output Yes x 1 (via DVI to D-Sub adaptor x 1 )
    DVI Output Yes x 1 (DVI-I)
    HDTV Output (YPbPr) Yes
    HDCP Support Yes
    TV Output Yes (S-Video to Composite)
    Adapter/Cable Bundled 1 x DVI to D-Sub adaptor
    1 x HDTV-out cable
    Software Bundled ASUS Utilities & Driver
    Hottest 3D Game: Company of Heroes - Opposing Fronts

    ram $135.95
    http://www.pcvonline.com/productDetails.aspx?id=5802
    CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 X 1 GB) DDR2 800 NON-ECC (5-5-5-18) - TWIN2X2048-6400C5DHX

    windows xp $139.95
    http://www.pcvonline.com/productDetails.aspx?id=3116
    Microsoft Windows XP Pro (OEM) w/System Purchase $139.95

    windows vista $189.95
    http://www.pcvonline.com/productDetails.aspx?id=4836
    Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate 32-Bit - License and media - 1 PC - OEM - DVD - English w/ system purchase
     
  17. jakedsnak

    jakedsnak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OMG ddp thanksman! This place has amazing deals! I already bought a computer from futureshop but I am going to take it back now that I have seen the deals they have.

    I looked at the AMD spider packages and I am comparing these to the one I bought. Can you tell me if it is worth the effort to take my computer back to futureshop and then order the one on pcv.com

    http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?logon=&langid=EN&sku_id=0665000FS10094012&catid=
    The computer I have already is above.

    http://www.pcvonline.com/productDetails.aspx?id=6529
    This is the awesome deal (I think) PCV.com has.

    Someone please help me. I dont know if its worth the hassle.
     
  18. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,165
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    128
    the futureshop pc comes with windows installed whereas the pcvillage one doesn't.
     
  19. jakedsnak

    jakedsnak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ya I see that and they are based out of ontario which is way to fare for shipping if something goes wrong with the computer. too bad
     
  20. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    So think about us in the UK. If we have to RMA a product, it often has to go all the way to the USA.
     

Share This Page