1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NVIDIA GeForce 6150 SE?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by dk92, Aug 18, 2007.

  1. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Oh this thread again. I hate this thread so much lol.

    Tylard, video cards don't come with built in TV Tuners. You have to buy those separate. Also, if you're going to be upgrading your video card you will also need a new PSU. You will have to factor in those costs. A 550VX is about 60 bucks after rebates.
     
  2. Tylard

    Tylard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the input guys.
     
  3. gustavo70

    gustavo70 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey guys i have a slimline hp pavilion s3400f pc
    4gig ram/500gig harddrive put i need to get a better card this si what i have on my pc now NVIDIA GeForce 6150 SE thes on my slimline and i need a card the can play warhammer online and the can be put on my slimline
     
  4. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Sorry bro, but you're screwed. That system wont fit a decent video card or the power supply needed to run it. The case is just too small.
     
  5. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,353
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
  6. xlock

    xlock Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Everybody is probably wondering whether this topic is ever going to end since it is active again now :D
    Well I have a ASUS M2NPV-MX Motherboard. According to the manual I have
    "Northbridge: NVIDIA GeForce 6150 GPU"
    "Southbridge: NVIDIA nForce 430 MCP"
    AMD 64 Athalon X2 Dual Core Processor 4000+
    1Gb of RAM

    Honestly 6150 is terrible but it hasn't bothered me since I'm not much of a gamer but I love GTA and Now IV for PC is out so I need to upgrade my PC and I need advice on what GFX Card to buy. I am ready to empty my wallet for an upgrade that will last me a long time. Help would be much appreciated, Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2008
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,353
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Depends what power supply you have in your system. Can you read the label that's on the side of it? (You'll need to open the case to see it, it's at the top)
     
  8. odoju

    odoju Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It runs my Everquest 2 great
     
  9. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,353
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Lol, which is how old?
     
  10. xlock

    xlock Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    This is what I got, there some other stuff but I didn't think it was relevant
    AC Input: 115/220-240 - 9/6A, 60/50Hz
    Max DC Output: 250W(+3.3V & +5V=115W MAX)
     
  11. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,353
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Does it tell you what the max output of the 12V is? That's really the most important. I'd also like to know what the brand of it is.
     
  12. xlock

    xlock Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't know much about computer hardware so I'll just list everything that I hadn't already mentioned.

    FSP Group Inc. (Sparkle Power Int'l LTD) Model no. FSP250-60THA
    DC Output: +3.3V = 17.0A(OR), +5V =18.0A(RED), +12V1 = 8.0A(YEL), +12V2 = 14.0A(YEL/Black), +5sb=2.0A(PUR), -12V=0.3A(Blue)

    From the manual I got this:
    ATX power supply (with 24-pin and 4-pin 12V plugs)
    ATX 12V 2.0 compliant
     
  13. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,353
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    That's actually better than I expected. Do you have a normal size case, or a slimline one like gustavo?
    If you have a normal case, then you can buy something like this:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127383
    and shouldn't have any problems. These are approximately as fast as the first 8800s were, a giant leap ahead of your 6150SE.
     
  14. xlock

    xlock Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well I think it is normal but my interpretations of size will probably be different from yours so here are the measurements.18cm wide, 42cm long and 35cm high.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2008
  15. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,353
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    That sounds ok.
     
  16. xlock

    xlock Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the help, selecting the RAM chip should be easy enough for me to handle, hopefully.
     
  17. xhead12

    xhead12 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    alright i dont get some of these guys they just say its crap cause its integrated well it might not be all powerfull but its a good graphics card. i have it on my own pc i just bought. it runs Battlefield 2,counter strike source,halo 2, sup com AND left 4 dead FINE! just because some higher models dont run them dosnt mean lower ones cant. overall this graphics card dosnt suck it really stands out for a integrated one and it plays most games fine.
     
  18. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,353
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    No it's not fine, you're playing them at absolute minimum graphics settings. Some, no, most people like games to look better than they did ten or more years ago.
     
  19. AaronNoob

    AaronNoob Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

    WELL EXCUSE ME...
    That happens to be my computer...
    XD
     
  20. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,353
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Lol, and?
    It's amazing how many people defend the 6150SE. It is to graphics cards what a peanut is to a gourmet meal. It's designed to render a desktop, MS Word and standard def video, that's it.
     

Share This Page