1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Optimal Property Settings for VHS Capture in Vegas?

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by CDubbs, Mar 27, 2007.

1. CDubbs

CDubbs Member

Posted: Mar 27, 2007 09:49

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi Folks,

I'm kinda new to whole A/D video conversion thing and have started trying to convert old VHS tapes to DVD. I'm using a JVC S-VHS > Canopus ADVC 110 > firewire > pc. The software I'm using is Vegas 7.0. I have an HDTV (Panny Plasma, TH-50PH9UK). I know my Frame Rate should be 29.970 (NTSC) and would imagine the Pixel aspect ration should be 0.9091 (NTSV DV). I tried a 1.2121 (NTSC DV Widescreen) test once and the movie ended up looked "squeezed" on my HDTV. Maybe it wouldn't if I checked the "Stretch Video to fill Output Frame size (Do not Letterbox)" option before rendering? I would assume you can't widescreen something that was already created 4:3 like VHS tapes.

I see that there are a few different Property settings...
    Field Order:
    - None (Progressive Scan)
    - Lower field first
    - Upper field first

Full resolution rendering quality...
    - Best
    - Good
    - Draft
    - Preview
    (I've been going with "Best", but not sure it's any different than "Good")

DeInterlace Method...
    - None
    - Blend fields
    - Interpolate fields

What's the optimal combination? The VHS is captured to AVI (like a 20 GB file) and when rendered goes to MPEG-2, like 4 GB.

On the Audio Tab I've been choosing "Best" for Resample and Stretch Quality - I assume that's fine.

Also, when you go to Render you have the option to "Stretch Video to fill Output Frame size (Do not Letterbox)" - Do I need to check that?

Is there anything under Options > Preferences I should change?

Thanks in advance for any help - it's much appreciated : )

-CW

2. CDubbs

CDubbs Member