1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

overclocking a dell?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by blazer9, Sep 10, 2008.

  1. blazer9

    blazer9 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have an optiplex 755 with the following features
    e6750 @ 2.66GHz
    9600 gt with 1GB of ddr3 memory
    4GB 667MHz RAM
    i would like to overclock my processor to 3GHz, and i read that dells cannot be overclocked from the bios because they lock their motherboards.. does that mean there is no way to overclock my dell?
    thanks in advance
     
  2. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    That is correct, you can't overclock it.
     
  3. blazer9

    blazer9 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    but i read somewhere that you can use a program called cpufsb to overclock a dell.. what exactly does cpufsb do then?
     
  4. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    CPUFSB overclocks a processor using software, rather than the BIOS. It's crude, and rarely gives very impressive results. Feel free to try it if you like, but don't expect a great deal out of it.
     
  5. blazer9

    blazer9 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i see.. thanks a lot for your help.. i have one more question. i would like to overclock my 9600 gt. i have rivatuner 2.10 and i just need to determine which core clock and memory clock to set it to.. can u help me?
     
  6. Ray92

    Ray92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm just wondering if there is any way to "UNLOCK" the motherboards, maybe similar to unbranding phones to allow them to work with other sim cards.

    In theory, if it's unlocked then the BIOS can be used to overclock right???

    Just wondering
     
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    You could potentially flash a custom BIOS but it needs to support the exact hardware the board has on it, and said hardware may not be capable of overclocking.
     
  8. Ray92

    Ray92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Are you referring to blazer's cpu or just in general
     
  9. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I don't mean the CPU, I mean the motherboard.
     
  10. Ray92

    Ray92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I see

    What about a intel 9 series motherboard, and a p4 3.4 Ghz, any way to o/c this???

    Just wondering, it might improve performance a little
     
  11. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Intel motherboards can't be overclocked either, neither are they interchangable with Dell's motherboards.
     
  12. Ray92

    Ray92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I wasn't talking about changing them, I was just wondering about my old rig
     
  13. blazer9

    blazer9 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks.
    Where should I get started to overclock my processor then? I mean how do I flash my motherboard and all that?
     
  14. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I wouldn't recommend it.
     
  15. Ray92

    Ray92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Do you say that because it is too difficult, unsafe, or not worth the effort/ risk??

    Just trying to increase my computer knowledge ;)
     
  16. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    likely to cause complete failure of the board... :p
     
  17. Ray92

    Ray92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Which would render his computer completely useless, I presume :p



     
  18. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Indeed it would.
     
  19. blazer9

    blazer9 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oh I see. Too bad I can't overclock it. Thanks a lot for you help.
     
  20. Captncarb

    Captncarb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    with that processor your FSB runs 1066 or 4x266, 266 which is the bus speed times 10 your CPU's mutiplier for 2.66 Ghz, the 755 supports FSB 1333 or 4x333, 333 times 10 again is 3.33 Ghz... the links below discuss a BSEL pin mod with pictures. Your CPU has a LLL lock making the mod easy, simply tape over the BSEL pin 2 for a HLL, the motherboard will think the processor installed is a 1333 instead of a 1066

    Captncarb

    http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=89038&page=13
    http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=903623
     

Share This Page