1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Overclocking????? plz read

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Liez4Love, Mar 19, 2005.

1. Liez4Love

Liez4Love Regular member

I read almost everything I could find about over clocking, i know about the bus speed, and cooling and stuff, however, when i start my computer, and go to the bios settings, i see the bus speed, but i cant highlight it, is that the right way to change the bus speed?

2. ddp

ddp Moderator Staff Member

if can't change bus speed in bios than possibly locked. check board site for bios updates & what changes they did in each update

3. Liez4Love

Liez4Love Regular member

Boardsite? as in the mother board website?

4. ddp

yes

5. Liez4Love

Liez4Love Regular member

sorry, im a newbie,. but under device manager what is the mother broad? is it computer? because i didnt build this computer i had it built for me. and it didnt come with the motherbraod instructions.

6. jaydeeX3

jaydeeX3 Guest

look in your device manager, and under either IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers, or system devices and it should tell you like for instance INTEL 82801AA Bus Master IDE Controller....INTEL 82801AA would be my MOBO.... hope this will help you

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 20, 2005
  7. ddp

your not a newbie as you are a junior member!!. if you don't know what a motherboard is, i would suggest not to try overclocking your system until such time as you know the ins & outs of that computer. the reason being you can easily fry parts of or all of your computer if you don't know what the components are or do. it is like giving a kid some gasoline & matches, tell them not play with them & they burn the house down.

8. ScubaBud

ScubaBud Regular member

Liez4Love