1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PAL to NTSC Conversion

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by mphsbelle, Jul 13, 2007.

1. mphsbelle

mphsbelle Member

I am really new at this, and old, but I have recently purchased several dvd's abroad that are PAL and in the US we use NTSC. Since I am a neophyte in this area I have read everything I can but, frankly, most of it is above me. Did I mention I am old, as dirt? Unfortunately, I do still work and don't have lots of time or knowledge to sit and try various programs that I still cannot make heads or tails out of. Anyway, other than purchasing Nero and begging for a step by step process, is there any other program that I can try? Do I need to memorize the frame rates for the different signals or will the programs talk in plain english? I have a new ATSC TV that plays everything, unfortunately, my other tv is HD but not atsc. Thank you. You guys and gals are brilliant.

2. paiger651

paiger651 Regular member

I used Nero Vision4 to convert a PAL movie to NTSC it was a simple process using that.

3. mphsbelle

mphsbelle Member

Thank you so much; I will give it a try. Will let you know what I end up with.

4. zeroscarf

zeroscarf Member

can i convert my Spiderman3 Games From a PAL version to NTSC version
    and if so how would i do it the post back

Thx
    Zero Scarf

5. PeaInAPod

PeaInAPod Active member

Heres a simple way to patch the VOB .IFO's so that they will be playable with most modern DVD players. a pic describing this process is below...
    [​IMG]

6. ChrisC586

ChrisC586 Regular member

I know in Vision changing from Pal To NTSC I couldn't keep the menus, will Vob keep them? Chris

7. PeaInAPod

PeaInAPod Active member

Yes. All VOBlanker does is change a setting in the .ifo file to make the player think it is a NTSC disc. The video structure(menus), and everything stay the same.

8. mfedora

mfedora Member