1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PC help for all u computer technicians

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by scornofx, Feb 9, 2008.

  1. scornofx

    scornofx Guest

    ok im having a problem with my pc it went out on me nothing dislpays on the screen its not the monitor or the video card all the bios are updated its not the mobo ither or cpu so could it be the memory went bad or something else if anyones got advice or an answer to the problem help out the problem started when i was using aiboost its software that comes with mobo to overclock i was just changing the multiplier it was X13 originally i boosted it up to x14 and my screen froze it wasnt a heat problem cuz i was monotoring the cpu heat so did i fusk up my memory or something else my computer specs are CPU amd 64 fx 55, VIDEO CARD 7900 gt oc, MOBO asus a8n sli-deluxe, and corsair 2x 512 xms 3200 400mhz
     
  2. Crab56

    Crab56 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you think the RAM is bad, you can go here, download program, burn to disc and boot troubled computer from this disc. It will bypass OS and test the RAM
    http://www.memtest86.com/

    Other than that, I too overclocked my FX55. Worked awhile then started crashing to bluescreen. Loaded default BIOS settings, system starting working fine so I quit messing with it and it still works perfect. Good luck
     
  3. DXR88

    DXR88 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Reset bios see what happens. just pop out the battery or look for the Reset BIOS jumper. Reset BIOS jumper should be ether near the battery or the CMOS chip itself.

    I honestly dont think your memorys to blame for this.

    Also check your MOBO manual to see what the beep error codes are.

    however if it remains silent. and nothing happen it may be one of two thing.

    1 your chipset burned out, yes it happens.
    2. your CPU is fryed.


     
  4. scornofx

    scornofx Guest

    down have a way to see anything or hear any beap codes so now it might be my chipset i tried a diffrent mobo aswell and cpu aswell the memory is the only thing that i cant check cuz i have no other spare so im thinking its the momory unless i have 2 bad mobos
     
  5. DXR88

    DXR88 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    But even with bad memory there should be some type of verification.

    such as beep codes or something.
     
  6. scornofx

    scornofx Guest

    yeah i know but i dont have a way to hear the beap codes at all no on board mic and ive tried diffrent mobos diffrent cpus
     
  7. DXR88

    DXR88 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Well if that is the case it narrows it down to another possible problim do you have a voltage meter. the Power supply unit may be at fault, but before you do anything with the PSU.

    Strip the mobo to hardwire Componets disconnect everything but the Cpu, Memory and Power,turn power on then see what happens.

    then Rebuild by adding your Video Card again turn it on see what happens.
     
  8. scornofx

    scornofx Guest

    one of my friends said it might be the power supply its got enough power to power on the fans but not the rest of the equipment the powersupply and ram are the only things i havent switched out
     
  9. DXR88

    DXR88 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    well try a different PSU, im still not convinced the ram is at fault
     
  10. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Try using only one stick of RAM, and try it in two different slots. Then do the same with your other stick. If the same problem occurs in all scenarios, the RAM's not to blame. If you have issues in only some of the scenarios, look at replacing the RAM.
    However, the problem really sounds like you just messed up your overclock, so clearing your CMOS settings should do the trick.
     
  11. scornofx

    scornofx Guest

    yeah but when i use a diffrent mobo the cmos should be at default unless that mobo is just a dud and is messed up ill try getting a different power supply and memory sticks
     
  12. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Power supply is certainly well worth checking, cheaper units often give out when you start overclocking.
     
  13. DXR88

    DXR88 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Well good luck tell us how it goes mmmkay.
     

Share This Page