1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 107 region settings

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by HappyDVD, Mar 7, 2004.

1. HappyDVD

HappyDVD Guest

Hi All

I am new to all this DVD burning malarkey but seem to have got things working thanks to a lot of info from this forum…. Great advice and info guys thanks.

So here’s the scenario:
    PIII 80Mhz; 512Mb RAM; 160Gb HD; Pioneer 107; Win XP.

I have installed the upgrade firmware 1.10 using DVRFlash I installed both firmware’s, not sure exactly what this was all about but it seems to have worked OK as the firmware out the box was 1.9 its now 1.10 I did this principally to make the drive multi-region.

I have an application called DVDInfoPro, which correctly identifies my drive and reports the firmware as v 1.10 the region code as ALL and the Region Control as RPC-1.

Under the <Advanced> <DVD Region> tab for the DVD Drive Windows reports:
    Current Region 2
    Changes Remaining 1

So my question, is the drive multi region and if I change the region or play a R1 disk on the drive am I in danger of getting the drive locked on R1?

I should add that before I applied the firmware patch the drive was set to R2 and Changes Remaining was at 4, I have never actually changed the region or attempted to play anything other than R2 or region free disk.

Thanks in advance for any help/info/comment you may be able to offer.

2. ROAR

ROAR Member

I have pretty much the same question. Same drive. and Same method.

Went to a 1.10 firmware with no region code while on a previous OS.
    Had the expected 4 or 5 changes remaining then, a few days ago.
    Installed XP, and in the device settings for the drive under DVD Region it says 2 changes remaining, and after putting a dvd in (first one on the drive) it now says 1 change remaining.