1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PIONEER DVD-RW AND HOW TO USE THEM FOR COPYING

Discussion in 'DVD players' started by KRAYS, Oct 12, 2001.

1. KRAYS

KRAYS Guest

PLEASE CAN SOMEONE HELP ME,IM NEW TO THIS GAME AND HAVE SOME QUESTIONS THAT I HOPE SOMEONE CAN ANSWER FOR ME THANKS.IF I HAD A DVD-RW AND SAY A DVD FILM AND WANTED TO MAKE A COPY OF IT,AND PUT IT ON TO ANOTHER DVD DISK,HOW WOULD I GO ABOUT DOING THIS AND WHAT SOFTWARE IS NEEDED,I WANT IT TO BE JUST LIKE A CD-R THAT CAN BE USED TO COPY MUSIC DISK TO DISK.PLEASE CAN SOMEONE HELP ME THANKS VERY MUCH KRAYS

2. dRD

dRD I hate titles Staff Member

There's no very easy way for that one. Basically you still need to rip the DVD using DVD ripper like SmartRipper and then you need to decode the VOBs to MPEG-2 video.

After that you need to author the DVD with some DVD authoring tool like SpruceUp and burn to the DVD with Nero or similiar DVD-R supporting tool.

Problem is that current recordable DVD formats only allow you to have 4.7GB on one disc and therefor you normally can't fit any extras to the disc as normal DVD-Video movies are either in flipper or dual layer format and have more than 4.7GB on them.

And blank recordable DVD discs cost the same as movies :)

3. GonzoXP

GonzoXP Guest

DVD-R's are coming down in price, so that argument has gotten old. Burners are coiming down, too, so I'm hoping to see some automated front-ends coming out for this process.

4. dRD

Eventually there will be, I'm sure -- only thing is that they'll remain "underground" because of CSS encryption and possible legal issues that might raise if someone, say Ahead, would create a tool that would allow 1:1 DVD backups.

5. GonzoXP

GonzoXP Guest