1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Playing Video Files

Discussion in 'Other video questions' started by Kohza, Feb 27, 2006.

1. Kohza

Kohza Member

Whenever I try to play any video format (AVI, MPEG etc) it just lags my computer up and never actually plays.

I've had this problem before, and I took it to a computer place and they fixed it saying I had to lower the speed of my Processor..

That's why I doubt it's a codec problem, also, I've got the exact same codecs as before. K-Lite Codec pack.

I think it's a problem with the hardware, but I'm no computer expert hehe..

Sorry if this is in the wrong forum please feel free to move.
    - Thank you.

2. philraz

philraz Regular member

which player are you using ?
    specs on computer and graphics please ?

3. 2IIPack

2IIPack Guest

where's a good place to download wmv files to put on my harddrive?

4. Auslander

Auslander Senior member

what the hell, 2IIPack? totally irrelevant, unrelated, and unnecessary. don't hijack a thread, please; it's not here for you to bend over a desk and have your way with :p

Kohza: i don't think the processor would have a problem with this. have you run all your anti-spyware/anti-virii? (after updating them, of course) also, have you done a good run of CCleaner and defragged?

as philraz said, we need your specs and info. fill us in a bit more, please.

5. Rikoshay

Rikoshay Regular member

You know, it might be the problem with the codec pack. I heard that they were bad and that a lot of people are having serious problems with them. I have the same problem where files that usually would play at about 50% CPU w/ FFDShow is playing more like 80%+. It could be a mistake on my part, but I guess it wouldn't hurt to check. I also hear that they install codecs in inappropriate areas, so that could be an issue as well.