1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help me figure this out!

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by Genetic13, Jul 10, 2003.

1. Genetic13

Genetic13 Member

I'll admit that I'm new to this encoding thing but I have tried everything I've read on this site and others and I can't make it work. Here's the problem; I downloaded an AVI file from a friend and wanted to turn it into a VCD. First I cut it in half with VirtualDub and both AVI files created still worked fine, but when I try to encode to VCD with Ulead DVD Moviefactory or TMPGenc the audio simply doesn't work right. It's off by about 10 seconds. I've tried VirtualDub, and NanDub to try and fix this problem and I just can't figure it out. When I tried to skew the audio file and synch it with the video it starts out in synch but soon falls out. What am I doing wrong here? When I open the file in VirtualDub it tells me that a VBR audio stream is detected and I need to decompress the audio stream to WAV and then recompress with a contant bitrate encoder 139.8 +/- 35.3. Well I tried that too but I'm not so sure that I'm doing it right. Anyway I've tried to figure this out on my own for 5 days straight and cannot get this particular AVI file to work. If anyone can help me out I would greatly appreciate it. I just know this is possible and don't want to give up. Thanks for any help in advance.

2. Dela

Dela Administrator Staff Member

Why you trying to split the file in the first place before you encode. that is usually left till after the encoding, makes more sense that way!

3. Genetic13

Genetic13 Member