1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help with install!

Discussion in 'Xbox - General discussion' started by rsbackup, May 19, 2003.

1. rsbackup

rsbackup Guest

Hi, I am a newbie to modding and I have been having some problems installing a x-ecuter 2 lite. First I installed the chip only to have green and red flashing lights after I powered my xbox up. Then I found that I made the mistake of pluging the ribbion cord in the wrong way. Fixed that and the green/red flashing lights went away, but then green and orange lights started flashing. I figured that might be because of a bad 'do' point connection. went back and soldered the 'do' to the back side of the mobo, booted up and a message appeared saying that my xbox required service, but when I take the chip out the console works as retail. I have tried 2 different chips.....same thing .....any suggestions?!

2. Drew224

Drew224 Regular member

3. rsbackup

rsbackup Guest

yes I understand that, but when I re-soldered the do the xbox booted but then stated it required service...
    thanks, ryan

4. Drew224

Drew224 Regular member

From my experience the requiring service is usually just something like, you forgot to connect the hard drive or something simple like that. If the DO is good and something else is wrong with the soldering job you get a FRAG.

5. rsbackup

rsbackup Guest

is there a specific way to plug in the ribbon into all 3 ports, would you suggest using a multimeter to test points?

thanks for the help Drew, ryan

6. Drew224

Drew224 Regular member