1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Possible to record 24/96 with a PC DVD burner?

Discussion in 'High resolution audio' started by The_Mule, Oct 17, 2003.

1. The_Mule

The_Mule Member

24/96 LPCM audio is a supported DVD-Video format. No, I'm not confusing this with DVD-A. :) Chesky records put these type of discs out as Digital Audio Discs (DADs).

My goal is to record analog lps to a 24/96 digital (DVD) format.

Another goal is multiple hours of 16/44.1 std CD (wav) audio on a recordable DVD. (I'm still learning about all the formats.) I assume most burners should be able to do this. ??

Thanks!

2. A_Klingon

A_Klingon Moderator Staff Member

Hi Mule. Those are awfully good questions. Only just recently I've learned that 2-channel stereo 24/96 IS a standard DVD [bold]video[/bold] format as WELL as DVD audio, which sure as heck raises the question, "Why can't I put 24/96 audio on a standard dvd video?", which apparently you can, but how?

I don't _think_ you can back-up such discs (as Chesky's) using the freely-available backup software you see everywhere (dvd-decrypter, etc.)

I'd love to see somebody try though. I believe one gent in here suggested that present backup software _could_ be easily modified to accept 24/96 audio for inclusion on standard dvd video discs if some programmer wanted to include it, but I guess the public demand to do so is minimal enough that no one seems to care.

One still needs to use 'proper' (and damned expensive) DVD-A authoring software to put 24/96 audio on dvd-a discs. On dvd-v discs, I dunno..... (yet). But I think transferring high-quality vinyl to DVD A [bold]or[/bold] DVD V is a _very_ worthwhile idea.