1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with Burning speed....

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Summoner, Dec 16, 2004.

1. Summoner

Summoner Member

I'm a newb. -.- But a friend got me into burning and such, but my burner was going at 4x...but now, for some reason, it's going at 1x...I dont know how it changed or why...but does anyone have any ideas how I can fix this issue? Thanks in advance...

2. mcalister

mcalister Regular member

Update and install your burners firmware at the models main website, eg: liteonit.com or plextor.com, pioneer, cdfreaks firmware, etc.

3. mcalister

mcalister Regular member

Oh yea I forgot, I dont know what software your using but, set your burn speed to 4x in your settings.

4. Summoner

Summoner Member

DVD-Shrink...but I couldn't find an option to change the burn speed on it. -.-

5. baabaa

baabaa Active member

A very drastic move indeed................

BUT FIRST...............

Your burner may have altered itself into PIO mode.
    Whereas it should really be in DMA.

Go into Device manager
    Click on IDE ATA/ATAPI controller
    Click on either primary or secondary (depending how your burner is connected)
    Go into properties
    Go into advanced settings

You should see the mode settings here, the one you want to look for is 'current transfer mode'
    Now I suspect yours is displaying PIO mode rather than DMA.

You can do 1 of 2 things, either uninstall the drive (in software not phyisically) and reboot and let windows reinstall it - see if that works.(right click on the drive in device manager)

Or uninstall the IDE controller that it is on, and reboot - one or the other should get your transfer mode back up to DMA mode.(right click on the correct IDE controller in device manager)

This should hopefully get you back on track.......................

6. Summoner

Summoner Member