1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Professional vs. amateur

Discussion in 'HD DVD discussion' started by twissie90, Oct 17, 2005.

1. twissie90

twissie90 Member

I am a sports photographer. I am thinking of changing my medium to include video. I am confused as to what dvd camcorder I would need. Please, if anyone has any knowledge of what's out there I would greatly appreciate any feedback.

2. Reasons?

Reasons? Guest

You've a long time to wait, mobile video recording hardware for the new media formats is far away, far away.

3. diabolos

diabolos Guest

What do you mean Reasons? Don't HD-cams that record to MPEG-4 qualify?

4. Reasons?

Reasons? Guest

I thought he was looking for one that records to optical media, like Sony's camcorders that record to min-DVD, that way you can capture hours of video without a hard drive and then swap discs for more.

If he is looking for something that records HD quality video to a drive or memory stick, then yes, he can get that.

And no, mpeg-4 is not HD, H.264, it's bred from Mpeg-4 but is 6 times the quality , is HD. It's also called AVC, the PSP uses it to conserve quality with space, but you started with regular video so when you put to AVC all you save is space (for the psp).

AVC, advanced video codec, H.264 is what you're looking for.

5. diabolos

diabolos Guest

Last time I checked AVC was not only apart of MPEG-4 but co-developed by the Moving Picture Experts Group. Its technical name is [bold] ISO/IEC MPEG-4 Part 10[/bold].

6. Reasons?

Reasons? Guest

"Its technical name is ISO/IEC MPEG-4 Part 10."

Its? there is more than one it. And what you mentioned ain't one of them, or it, if it is the name, and it as in one it, is the standard. ? :)

The final standard is H.264, or MPEG-4 Part 10, or AVC. They're all the same, just different names for the one standard.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/H.264

7. diabolos

diabolos Guest