1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ps3 + hdmi 1.3 cable, got 420p, 720p and 1080i, but no 1080p HELP!!!!!

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by warura, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. warura

    warura Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello, I recently got a 1.3 HDMI cable, When I connect it my ps3 detects that only till 1080i can be supported. If I use a normal 1.0 HDMI cable I can output 1080p, so I manually selected 1080p with the 1.3 hdmi cable and I dont get picture, just gray Noise..... could it be related to my TV? Or could the cable be working wrong? I have the latest PS3 update. My tv is a Sharp LC-42D62U.
     
  2. nomChairs

    nomChairs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Your TV might not support 1080p? That happened to me once with my 360
     
  3. MysticE

    MysticE Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Why not just use the cable that works? Seems like a non-issue to me.
     
  4. warura

    warura Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My Issue is that why didnt the 1.3 cable work in 1080p if its supposed to be compatible with earlier versions of HDMI.
     
  5. leo8013

    leo8013 Guest

    what are you trying to play. the game or disc might not be a 1080p disc. not all games or movies are 1080p.
     
  6. warura

    warura Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am not playing no game yet when I try to use this 1.3 cable, I am at the configure menu in the Playstation 3. And when It starts to detect the posible resolutions, it doesnt detect 1080p as compatible, but with the other 1.0 hdmi cable it does detect 1080p.
     
  7. AE27

    AE27 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Is the HDMI inputs on your TV 1.3?
     
  8. warura

    warura Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    no, actually on the TV they are not, now that you mention it and I checked. But The new tv That I Will get will have. Still, of the cable is supposed to be backward compatible, should this matter?
     
  9. Ryu77

    Ryu77 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The cable itself can not be specified to be HDMI v1.3, it is only the HDMI socket hardware. The cable that is labeled HDMI v1.3 means that it has been tested and approved for the transfer speed of 10.2Gbps etc.

    That certainly is a strange problem you have there. You do not need HDMI v1.3 to display 1080p (as you already know). It sounds like a faulty cable to me. Is it a good quality cable or a cheaper one?
     

Share This Page